Check it out and give us feedback.
View Site
USGS - science for a changing world

About USGS

Maps, Imagery, and Publications Hazards Newsroom Education Jobs Partnerships Library About USGS Social Media

Directors - Past and Present

The following is a list of the individuals who have served as Directors of the U.S. Geological Survey since its formation in 1879:

Clarence King
1879 - 1881
Photo of John Wesley Powell
John Wesley Powell
1881 - 1894
Photo of Charles Doolittle Walcott
Charles Doolittle Walcott
1894 - 1907
Photo of George Otis Smith
George Otis Smith
1907 - 1930
Photo of Walter Curran Mendenhall
Walter Curran Mendenhall
1930 - 1943
Photo of William Embry Wrather
William Embry Wrather
1943 - 1956
Photo of Thomas Brennan Nolan
Thomas Brennan Nolan
1956 - 1965
Photo of William Thomas Pecora
William Thomas Pecora
1965 - 1971
Photo of Vincent Ellis McKelvey
Vincent Ellis McKelvey
1971 - 1978
Photo of Henry William Menard
Henry William Menard
1978 - 1981
Photo of Dallas Lynn Peck
Dallas Lynn Peck
1981 - 1993
Photo of Gordon P. Eaton
Gordon P. Eaton
1994 - 1997
Photo of Charles G. Groat
Charles G. Groat
1998 - 2005
Mark Myers Mark Myers
2006 - 2009
Photo of Director, Marcia McNutt Director, Marcia K. McNutt
2010 - present


Accessibility FOIA Privacy Policies and Notices

Take Pride in America logo logo U.S. Department of the Interior | U.S. Geological Survey
Page Contact Information: Ask USGS
Page Last Modified: Tuesday, October 05, 2010