USGS - science for a changing world

Pacific Island Ecosystems Research Center

 Home /  About Us /  Scientists /  Research /  Q-Hui /  Publications /  Fact Sheets /  Archive /  Contact Us

American Samoa

American Samoa is a U.S. Territory located in the South Pacific Ocean. American Samoa is part of the Samoan Islands chain, located west of the Cook Islands, north of the Kingdom of Tonga, and approximately 300 miles (500 km) south of Tokelau. The total land area is 76.1 square miles (197.1 km2), slightly more than Washington, D.C. Consisting of five rugged, volcanic islands and two coral, the five volcanic islands are Tutuila, Aunuu, Ofu, Olosega, and Tau, and the coral atolls are Swains and Rose Atoll. PIERC partnership with Department of Interior includes research at the National Park of American Samoa.


Project Lead Scientist
Forest Bird Pathogen Surveys Carter Atkinson
Invasive Ant Management Paul Banko
Swallowtail Butterfly Ecology Paul Banko

USGS Home Water Climate Change Core Science Ecosystems Energy and Minerals Env. Health Hazards

Accessibility FOIA Privacy Policies and Notices

Take Pride in America logo logo U.S. Department of the Interior | U.S. Geological Survey
Page Contact Information: Derek Renn
Page Last Modified: Wednesday, 09-Jan-2013 09:43:34 EST