skip navigation links
USGS - science for a changing world

Human Capital Services and Support

We Are USGS!

Bureau Voluntary Early Retirement Authority (VERA)

The USGS requested and received approval from the Office of Personnel Management (OPM) for the Voluntary Early Retirement Authority (VERA) or ‘early-out’ for all eligible USGS employees, except Senior Executive Service (SES). The authority is needed to help reduce overall workforce costs due to bureau budget constraints, sequestration, and continually rising fixed costs for salaries and facilities.

This early-out opportunity is being offered to all employees who meet the eligibility requirements for retirement effective between February 13, 2014 and September 30, 2014. Employees who choose to accept the VERA must be off the rolls no later than September 30, 2014.

To retire under the VERA, you must meet the OPM’s eligibility requirements.  Employees covered under both the Federal Employee Retirement System (FERS) and the Civil Service Retirement System (CSRS), or CSRS offset must be:

  • age 50 or older with 20 years creditable service, or any age with 25 years of creditable service,
  • must have been continuously employed by the Department of Interior since September 29, 2013,
  • be serving under an appointment without time limitation, and
  • have not received a final removal decision based upon misconduct or unacceptable performance.

If you are eligible for early retirement, you will receive a letter which will provide you with important information on how to apply for early retirement.  If you think you are eligible for VERA and do not receive this letter by February 18, 2014, contact your servicing Benefits Specialist .

Webinar Presentations

Date Topic Time Handouts
February 19, 2014 CSRS Planning for the Future – VERA 8:00am - 10:30am Hawaii
9:00am - 11:30am Alaska
10:00am - 12:30pm Pacific
11:00am - 1:30pm Mountain
12:00pm - 2:30pm Central
1:00pm - 3:30pm Eastern
CSRS Handout
February 20, 2014 FERS Planning for the Future – VERA FERS Handout
March 5, 2014 FERS Planning for the Future – VERA FERS Handout
March 6, 2014 CSRS Planning for the Future - VERA CSRS Handout


  Contact Us

Conflict Management | Employee & Career Development | Human Resources |
Organization Development | Pay & Benefits | Performance & Conduct | Staffing & Workforce

Accessibility FOIA Privacy Policies and Notices

Take Pride in America logo USA.gov logo U.S. Department of the Interior | U.S. Geological Survey
URL: http://www.usgs.gov/humancapital/sw/workforceplanning/bureauvera.html
Page Contact Information: hcweb@usgs.gov
Page Last Modified: Thursday, 29-May-2014 13:08:51 EDT