Contacts

Our team is coordinating scientific research activities across the Bureau to bring together the expertise needed for recovery as well as improve preparedness for future storms. Activities range from measuring and monitoring resources across the landscape as well as conducting research that expands capabilities and understanding. We also provide foundational data support, delivery and tools that make this information available to partners and stakeholders.

USGS Hurricane Sandy Science Coordination Team

USGS Hazard Response Team Executive Committee Co-chair

Bill Werkheiser

bwerkheiser@usgs.gov

USGS Hazard Response Team Executive Committee Co-chair

David Applegate

applegate@usgs.gov

Sandy Science Coordination Team Lead

Sonya Jones

sajones@usgs.gov

Coastal Elevation Data and Mapping Team Lead

Teresa Dean

tdean@usgs.gov

Understanding Coastal Change Team Lead

John Haines

jhaines@usgs.gov

Coastal Hydrology and Storm Surge Team Lead

John Fulton

jwfulton@usgs.gov

Environmental Quality and Contaminants Team Lead

Mike Focazio

mfocazio@usgs.gov

Coastal Ecosystem Impacts Team Lead

Matthew Andersen

mandersen@usgs.gov

USGS Hurricane Sandy Science Coordination Liaisons

Department of the Interior Sandy Executive Council

Suzette Kimball

suzette_kimball@usgs.gov

Department of the Interior Sandy Regional Team

Dave Russ

druss@usgs.gov

White House Office of Science and Technology Policy

John Haines

jhaines@usgs.gov

Joint field Operations New York

Cheryl Hapke

chapke@usgs.gov

Joint Field Operations New Jersey

Tom Suro

tsuro@usgs.gov

Tribal Liaison

Monique Fordham

mfordham@usgs.gov

Department of the Interior Strategic Sciences Group

Kris Ludwig

kaludwig@usgs.gov