Science Center Objects

Consistent and accurate statewide water-use data are essential for the sound management of Florida's water resources. The five water management districts (WMD), which are the primary collectors of water-use information, tailor their water use programs to each of their own needs and priorities. Consequently, within the State, there are several different levels of data collection, storage, compilation, and publication of water-use information. Over the past 30 years, the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS), in cooperation with the Florida Departments of Environmental Protection (FDEP) and Agricultural and Consumer Services (FDACS) collects, compiles, summarizes, and publishes water-use information for Florida by category, county, WMD, and water source every five years. This effort in Florida, coincides with the USGS National Water-Use Program that collects, compiles, and publishes water-use data every five years, culminates with a publication that details water withdrawals by category and water source since 1970.

Water-Use, 2015

Water-use data compilation for 2015 began November 1, 2016 and is now completed. A USGS ScienceBase Data Release is available to download selected 2015 water withdrawal tables for Florida. A detailed USGS Report which describes data sources, methodology, and water-use trends for Florida is available at https://pubs.er.usgs.gov/publication/sir20195147.

Line

Selected Historical Water-use data for Florida (Click here)

Line

Who to Contact for Additional Water-use Information in Florida

Richard L. Marella - Geographer
Caribbean-Florida Water Science Center
12703 Research Parkway, Suite 200
Orlando, FL 32826
Office: 407-803-5573
Cell: 850-694-0025
E-Mail: rmarella@usgs.gov
John Ferguson
Water Supply Section -Water Resources Bureau
Southwest Florida Water Management District
2379 Broad Street (US Highway 41)
Brooksville, FL 34604-6899
Main: (352) 796-7211
Fax: (352) 754-6885
E-Mail: John.Ferguson@swfwmd.state.fl.us
Yesenia Escribano
Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Office of Agricultural Water Policy
407 S. Calhoun Street, MS-E1
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0800
Office: (850) 617-1732
E-Mail: yesenia.escribano@fdacs.gov
Beth Hollister
Northwest Florida Water Management District
81 Water Management Drive
Havana, FL 32333
Main: (850) 539-5999
E-Mail: beth.hollister@nwfwater.com
James Harmon
South Florida Water Management District
3301 Gun Club Road
West Palm Beach, FL 33416-4680
Office: (561) 686-6777
E-Mail: jharmon@sfwmd.gov
Amy Brown
Suwannee River Water Management District
9225 CR 49 
Live Oak, FL 32060
Main: (386) 362-1001
E-Mail: amy.brown@srwmd.org
Tammy B. Bader
St. Johns River Water Management District
Division of Water Resources
Bureau of Water Supply
P.O. Box 1429
Palatka, FL 32178-1429
Office: (386) 329-4209
E-Mail: tbader@sjrwmd.com
Christina Coger, AICP
Florida Department of Environmental Protection
Ecosystems Restoration
Environmental Administrator
Main: (850) 245-3150 
E-Mail: Christina.G.Coger@floridadep.gov