NGP User Engagement Office

Outreach and Partnerships

The goal of user engagement is to gather feedback on the products and services of The National Map so that future development will best meet USGS and Department of the Interior science objectives and provide the greatest value and impact for the Nation. Priority user communities include Hazards & Geologic Mapping, Natural Resources Conservation, and Water Resources.

Select the following image to view or download a list of 3DEP and BAA presentations/discussions that are provided by National Map Liaisons.

List of 3DEP and/or BAA presentations or discussions provided by National Map Liaisons.

 

 

The National Map partner and user engagement activities are conducted by a network of liaisons and coordinators:

  • User Engagement leadership in the National Geospatial Program (NGP) provides strategic direction and oversight to the range of The National Map partnership and user activities.
  • Federal Geospatial Liaisons work with the Federal Geographic Data Committee and other Federal agencies to develop and manage partnerships at the national and programmatic level to support development and use of The National Map.
  • Community of Use Coordinators lead and manage outreach to the priority user communities of The National Map; they also provide direction and guidance to USGS National Map Liaisons for expanding user outreach.
  • Alaska Mapping Project Manager coordinates National Geospatial Program efforts to modernize mapping for the State of Alaska.
  • The National Map Liaisons facilitate partnerships and agreements that improve the data holdings and the products and services of The National Map. Many liaisons also provide outreach and support to the priority user communities in the areas of Water Resources, Natural Resources Conservation and Geologic Hazards.
  • Associates are part-time liaisons who support both partnerships and user engagement and provide linkages to USGS science centers.

 

User Engagement Management Team

Name Location Phone Email Title
David Saghy Reston, VA (703) 648-5954 dsaghy@usgs.gov Chief, NGP User Engagement
Steve Aichele New Cumberland,  PA (717) 730-6949 saichele@usgs.gov Coordinator for Water Resources COU
Lance Clampitt Bozeman, MT (406) 994-6919 lsclampitt@usgs.gov Coordinator for Hazards and Geologic Mapping COU and NGP Emergency Management
Tracy Fuller Denver, CO (303) 202-4532 tfuller@usgs.gov Alaska Mapping Program Manager
Greg Matthews Denver, CO (303)-202-4446 gdmatthews@usgs.gov Coordinator for Natural Resources Conservation COU
Brigitta Urban-Mathieux Reston, VA (703) 648-5175 burbanma@usgs.gov Federal Liaison
Sherry Durst Denver, CO (303) 236-5408 sldurst@usgs.gov Project Manager

 

The National Map Liaisons

Name Location Phone Email National Map Liaison  for State(s) COU
Roger Barlow Reston, VA (703) 648-5189 rbarlow@usgs.gov DC, DE, MD, NJ WR
Tom Carlson Tacoma, WA (253) 552-1682 tcarlson@usgs.gov WA, OR, ID HGM
Chris Cretini Lafayette, LA (337) 266-8621 cretinic@usgs.gov LA, AR, FL, PR, USVI HGM
Drew Decker San Diego, CA (619) 225-6430 ddecker@usgs.gov AZ, CA, HI, Pacific Basin WR
Claire DeVaughan Austin, TX (512) 927-3583 cdevaugh@usgs.gov TX, OK, UT NRC
Alexandra Fredericks St. Petersburg, FL (727) 502-8086 afredericks@usgs.gov Associate Liaison - FL, PR, USVI HGM
Douglas Freehafer Troy, NY (518) 285-5620 dfreehaf@usgs.gov Associate Liaison - NY WR
Eliza Gross New Cumberland, PA (717) 730-6973  egross@usgs.gov Associate Liaison - PA WR
George Heleine Jackson, MS (601) 933-2950 gheleine@usgs.gov MS, AL, GA, TN WR
Charles Hickman Columbus, OH (614) 430-7768 chickman@usgs.gov MI, OH HGM
Jim Langtry Lincoln, NE (402) 328-4128 jlangtry@usgs.gov NE, IA, KS, WI, MN HGM
Carol Lydic Denver, CO (303) 236-5436 clydic@usgs.gov CO, NM NRC
David Nail Rolla, MO (573) 308-3638 dnail@usgs.gov IN, KY, IL, MO WR
Craig Neidig Charleston, WV (304) 347-5130 x237 cneidig@usgs.gov NY, PA, VA, WV HGM
Carol Ostergren Santa Cruz, CA (831) 460-7539 costergren@usgs.gov CA, NV HGM
Cole Ruckstuhl Lafayette, LA (337) 266-8542 ruckstuhlc@usgs.gov  Technical Support Specialist HGM
Steve Shivers Rapid City, SD (605) 394-3216 spshivers@usgs.gov SD, ND, MT, WY NRC
Pete Steeves Northborough, MA (508) 490-5054 psteeves@usgs.gov Associate Liaison - MA, RI WR
Silvia Terziotti Raleigh, NC (919) 571-4090 seterzio@usgs.gov Associate Liaison - NC, SC WR
Dan Walters Augusta, ME (207) 626-6628 danwalters@usgs.gov MA, ME, RI, NH, VT, CT WR
Brian Wright Anchorage, AK (907) 201-0113 bwright@usgs.gov AK Alaska Activities
Community of Use (COU):  HGM = Hazards and Geologic Mapping; WR = Water Resources; NRC = Natural Resources Conservation