Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Civility & Inclusion Council

An advisory council to the Executive Leadership Team (ELT), specifically the Anti-Harassment Executive Steering Group, the council is currently made up of six USGS employees from across USGS mission areas.

The Civility & Inclusion Council (CIC) works toward an inclusive workplace environment within the Bureau by fostering and promoting the civil treatment of employees and proactively addressing harassment and discrimination. Some of our workplace initiatives include:

The mission of the Civility and Inclusion Council is to work closely with Executive Leadership. However, the council also works with the Human Capital organization, the Office of Diversity and Equal Opportunity, and Bureau management to meet the goals and objectives of the Department of the Interior’s “Policy on Equal Opportunity and Zero Tolerance of Discrimination and Harassment” and the USGS Anti-Harassment Policy (370.734.1).

Originally, the CIC was the “Anti-Harassment Action Team” that was organized by Suzette Kimball and Virginia Burkett in 2016 as an employee-led group meant to assess the current environment in the USGS regarding harassment and to develop ways to bring attention to and address issues around harassment. This team has worked closely with ELT, Human Capital, Office of Diversity and Equal Opportunity, and Solicitor’s Office on various initiatives. The team wrote a charter in 2019 and established its role as the Civility and Inclusion Council.


FY20 Civility & Inclusion Council Current Members

Tina Roberts-Ashby CIC
Council ChairTina Roberts-AshbyCenter Director for Geology, Energy & Minerals Science CenterNational Center in Reston, VA
Lysanna Anderson
Lysanna AndersonResearch Geologist for Geology, Minerals, Energy, and Geophysics Science CenterMenlo Park, CA
Virginia Burkett CIC
Virginia BurkettChief Scientist for Climate and Land Use ChangeDirectors OfficeMany, LA
Aimee Devaris CIC profile pic
Aimee DevarisRegional Director for the Alaska RegionAnchorage, AK​​​​​​​
Alexandra Etheridge CIC
Alexandra EtheridgeWater-Quality Specialist for California Water Science CenterSacramento, CA
Jennifer Malpass
Jennifer MalpassBiologist for Eastern Ecological Science CenterLaurel, MD
Jenna Shelton CIC
Jenna SheltonProgram Officer, U.S. GeoFramework Initiative for National Cooperative Geologic Mapping ProgramIndianapolis, IN

​​​​​​​Collaboration and support for Council provided by

  • WE3 Council
  • Jo-Ann Dominique, ​​​​​​​Anti-Harassment Program Manager
  • Regina Neal-Mujahid, Chief, Office of Diversity and Equal Opportunity


« Return to Anti-Harassment Program  |  « Return to Workplace Culture Transformation  |  « Return to Peer Support Workers