Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

USGS Emeritus Program Awards

Dallas Peck Outstanding Emeritus Award

This award recognizes significant contributions made to the USGS mission by an individual while volunteering as an Emeritus. Possible contributions are listed below under “Judging Criteria.” An Emeritus may only receive the Dallas Peck Award one time. One or more awards will be given out each year at the USGS Awards Ceremony.


  • Nominees must be a Scientist Emeritus in good standing.
  • Nominees may NOT have received a previous Dallas Peck Award.

Judging Criteria (all to have been accomplished while a USGS Emeritus):

  • Exemplary service to the USGS
  • Major contributor to an outstanding scientific publication/s or mission critical product/s
  • Innovation/s of significance that further USGS programs
  • Development of a new procedure or process that results in substantially increased productivity, efficiency, or economy of operation at the USGS
  • Mentorship 
  • Significant service to the broader scientific community

Excelling in any one of these categories is sufficient to be considered for the award.

Nomination Process:

  • Science Center Directors, Branch Chiefs, Regional Executives, and Program Coordinators may submit nominations.
  • In two pages or less, describe why the individual should be considered for the award. List specific details that support the nomination. If necessary, pertinent documentation may also be submitted.
  • By May 31 of the current year, please submit nominations via email to the USGS Emeritus Program Coordinator, Laurel M. Bybell (, in the Office of Science Quality and Integrity.

Selection Process:

  • The Office of Science Quality and Integrity will conduct an evaluation process for all nominations.
  • Once selections are made, the recipients will be included in the annual USGS Awards Ceremony.

Dallas Peck Award Recipients