NWQL Technical Memorandas

NWQL Technical Memorandas

Detailed Description

19-02 ♦ May 1, 2019

◊ New instrument validation of Shimadzu TOC-L, carbon analyzer using acidification 
with NDIR method of disolved inorganic carbon (DIC) in water samples

◊ Sara Breitmeyer (sbreitmeyer@usgs.gov) (303) 541-3082
◊ Julie Ray (jlawrenc@usgs.gov) (303) 236-3247
◊ Carl Harris (cmharris@usgs.gov) (303) 236-3499
◊ Heather Miller (hmiller@usgs.gov) (303) 236-3189

19-01 ♦ February 21, 2019

◊ Acid Matrix study tech memo Characterization of bias and variability in dissolved
trace elements determined by inductively coupled plasma–mass spectrometry (ICP-MS)
attributable to a deviation inthe acid concentration of calibration standards during a period 
starting no earlier thanOctober 2005 and as late as 2008, and ending August 8, 2015
  
◊ Attachment 1 percent change vs concentration
◊ Attachment 2
◊ Attachment 3
◊ Attachment 4 Matched Pairs Stat Test
◊ Attachment 5 Matched Pairs Spl Only Stat Tests
◊ Sarah J. Stetson (303) 236-3277 (sstetson@usgs.gov)

18-02 ♦ April 30, 2018

◊ Validation of high-temperature catalytic oxidation carbon analyzers for analysis of organic carbon in water samples 
◊ Heather Miller (303) 236-3189 (hmiller@usgs.gov
◊ Julie Ray (303) 236-3247 (jlawrenc@usgs.gov
◊ Cecilia O'Connor (303) 236-3142 (coconnor@usgs.gov

18-01 ♦ October 01, 2017

◊ Validation of inductively-coupled plasma mass spectrometer instruments for analysis of trace metals in unfiltered-water and filtered-water samples
◊ Sarah J. Stetson (303) 236-3277 (sstetson@usgs.gov)
◊ Heather Miller (303) 236-3189 (hmiller@usgs.gov)

17-01 ♦ March 28, 2017

◊ Modification to the reporting of elemental results for whole-water recoverable (WWR) sample analyses with old and new laboratory and method codes
◊ Sarah J. Stetson (303) 236-3277 (sstetson@usgs.gov)
◊ John R. Garbarino (retired)
    ◊ Supersedes TM 2015.01, May 01, 2015

16-02 ♦ August 19, 2016

◊ Changes to detection levels, reporting levels, and data-reporting conventions for steroid hormones and other analytes in water, solids, and suspended sediment for National Water Quality Laboratory schedules 2434, 4434, 6434, and 7434
◊ William T. Foreman (303) 236-3942 (wforeman@usgs.gov)
◊ Patricia L. Toccalino (916) 278-3090 (ptocca@usgs.gov)
◊ Rhiannon C. ReVello (303) 236-3258 (rcrevell@usgs.gov)

16-01 ♦ August 12, 2016

◊ Validation of a Radiometer Analytical 870 Titrator and SAC 950 sample changer for alkalinity and acid-neutralizing capacity measurements
◊ Dana Erickson (303) 236-3939 (derickson@usgs.gov)
◊ Teresa L. Kirschling (303) 236-3177 (tkirschling@usgs.gov)

15-02 ♦ Jun 4, 2015

◊ Changes to National Water Quality Laboratory (NWQL) procedures used to establish and verify laboratory detection and reporting limits
◊ Teresa Williams (303) 236-3482 (twilliams@usgs.gov)
◊ William Foreman (303) 236-3942 (wforeman@usgs.gov)

15-01 ♦ May 01, 2015

◊ Modification to the reporting of elemental results for whole-water recoverable (WWR) sample analyses
◊ Sarah J. Stetson (303) 236-3277 (sstetson@usgs.gov)

14-01 ♦ October 01, 2014

◊ Reduction in the use of sample-weight-based scaling of reporting levels for National Water Quality Laboratory methods for organics in solids and sediments
◊ William T. Foreman (303) 236-3942 (wforeman@usgs.gov)

13-01 ♦ November 20, 2013

◊ Procedure used to correct axial-view lithium results determined by inductively coupled plasma – optical emission spectrometry (ICP-OES) 
◊ John R. Garbarino (303) 236-3945 (jrgarb@usgs.gov)

Details

Date added: