Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Map of thermal areas in Yellowstone National Park, 2019

Detailed Description

Map of thermal areas in Yellowstone National Park. Most of Yellowstone's more than 10,000 thermal features are clustered together into about 120 distinct thermal areas (shown in red). Lakes are blue. The Yellowstone Caldera is solid black and the resurgent domes are dotted black. Roads are yellow. The orange box shows the location of the Tern Lake thermal area.


Public Domain.