Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Alaska seismic studies

January 1, 1984

Seismic monitoring in Alaska by the U.S Geological Survey consists of a network of 46 stations focused on the following four areas:

  • Yakatut Bay to Prince William Sound, centered on the Yakatage seismic gap.
  • Anchorage, and the surrounding region of rapid growth and development. 
  • The active Cook Inlet volcanoes-Iliamna,Redoubt and Spurr. (Two of three stations near Mount Spurr are funded by the State of Alaska as part of their geothermal program.)
  • The region of the proposed Bradely Lake hydroelectric project on the Kenai Peninsula. (The area is monitored by five stations with funds from the Army Corps of Engineers.) 

Citation Information

Publication Year 1984
Title Alaska seismic studies
Authors J. Rogers
Publication Type Article
Publication Subtype Journal Article
Series Title Earthquake Information Bulletin (USGS)
Series Number
Index ID 70168603
Record Source USGS Publications Warehouse
USGS Organization