Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Earthquake history of New Mexico

January 1, 1975

Most of New Mexico's historical seismcity has been concentrated in the Rio Grande Valley between Socorro and Albuquerque. About half of the earthquakes of intensity V or greater (Modified Mercalli intensity) that occurred in teh State between 1868 and 1973 were centered in this region. 

Citation Information

Publication Year 1975
Title Earthquake history of New Mexico
Authors C. A. von Hake
Publication Type Article
Publication Subtype Journal Article
Series Title Earthquake Information Bulletin (USGS)
Index ID 70162481
Record Source USGS Publications Warehouse