Prairie Pothole Repeat Photography

Science Center Objects

The images in this archive are repeat photography of twelve prairie wetland sites in Sheridan County, Montana. These sites cover three different land use practices, with the first four sites situated in actively cultivated cropland (CL). The second set of four are in the Conservation Reserve Program (CRP). CRP lands are leased by the government for a set period of years to maintain environmental quality while providing habitat for migratory birds. (See for more information on the CRP program) The final set of four are located on native prairie sites (NP). These sites are often grazed but have not been tilled.