Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Tribal Relations Members

USGS Office of Tribal Relations (OTR) staff consists of two full-time personnel, the Head of OTR and the Bureau Tribal Partnership Coordinator, and USGS staff who serve collaterally as Mission Area Tribal Advisors or Regional Tribal Liaisons. 

Head, Office of Tribal Relations
   Chris Hammond | chammond@usgs.gov | 703-648-6621

Staff Scientist
   Shaleene Chavarria | schavar@usgs.gov | 505-830-7951

ITEK Coordinator (Detail)
   Nicole Herman-Mercer | nhmercer@usgs.gov | 303-236-5031

 

USGS Regional Tribal Liaisons 

Region 1: North Atlantic-Appalachian
   Jason Sorenson | jsorenso@usgs.gov | 508-490-5022

Region 2: South Atlantic–Gulf / Region 4: Mississippi Basin / Region 6: Arkansas-Rio Grande-Texas-Gulf
   Athena Clark | athclark@usgs.gov | 334-395-4141

Region 3: Great Lakes / Region 5: Missouri Basin
   Josh Valder | jvalder@usgs.gov | 605-430-7411

Region 7: Upper Colorado Basin
   Jessica Driscoll | jdriscoll@usgs.gov | 303-236-4979

Region 8: Lower Colorado Basin / Region 10: California-Great Basin
   Russ Taylor-Grimes | rtaylor-grimes@usgs.gov | 916-278-3000     

Region 9: Columbia-Pacific Northwest / Region 12: Pacific Islands
   Lief Horwitz | lief_horwitz@usgs.gov | 206-220-4616

Region 11: Alaska
   Elizabeth Powers | epowers@usgs.gov | 907-786-7085

    ⇒ Learn more about the USGS Regions

USGS Mission Area Tribal Advisors 

Core Science Systems
   Cindy Thatcher | thatcherc@usgs.gov | 703-648-5122

Ecosystems
   Linda Weir | lweir@usgs.gov | 703-648-4052
   Suzanna Soileau | ssoileau@usgs.gov | 406-994-7257

Energy and Mineral Resources
   Tanya Gallegos | tgallegos@usgs.gov | 703-716-3621

Natural Hazards    
   Eric Grossman | egrossman@usgs.gov | 831-427-4725

Water Resources    
   Douglas Yeskis | djyeskis@usgs.gov | 703-648-5046

Office of Administration
   Michelle Fishburne | efishburne@usgs.gov | 703-659-3630

   ⇒ Learn more about the Mission Areas