Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Box diagram and map showing sources and fate of geothermal solutes in the Yellowstone River

Detailed Description

The Yellowstone River is divided into five reaches (labeled and color-coded): Yellowstone Lake, Hayden Valley, Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone, Tower–Gardner, and Mammoth.  Monitoring stations (yellow dots on map) between each reach of the river reaches allow geochemists to measure river composition and then determine the sources of chloride (Cl) and other solutes from hydrothermal features. Figure developed by Baine McCleskey.


Public Domain.