Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

NEHRP turns 40

August 1, 2017

This year, the National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP) turns 40, four decades since the Earthquake Hazards Reduction Act of 1977 was enacted establishing the Program, spurring numerous federal, state, and community actions to reduce earthquake losses in the U.S.A. and its territories and setting a standard for earthquake loss‐reduction projects internationally. Four agencies are partners in NEHRP: the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST, the lead agency), the National Science Foundation (NSF), and the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS).

Citation Information

Publication Year 2017
Title NEHRP turns 40
DOI 10.1785/0220170088
Authors William S. Leith
Publication Type Article
Publication Subtype Journal Article
Series Title Seismological Research Letters
Index ID 70193698
Record Source USGS Publications Warehouse
USGS Organization Earthquake Hazards Program; Geologic Hazards Science Center

Related Content