Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Connect

Our researchers are based in Jamestown, North Dakota with duty stations in St. Paul and Ely, Minnesota, Lincoln, Nebraska, and Hot Springs, South Dakota.  Scientists from NPRWC work throughout the northern Great Plains on waterfowl and grassland management, threatened and endangered species, sandhill crane populations, invasive species, wolf recovery, and saving honeybees and pollinators.

Employee Directory

Job Title Name Email Phone
Chief - Wildlife and Ecosystems Branch Michael Anteau, PhD manteau@usgs.gov 701-368-9792
Research Ecologist Sheel Bansal, PhD sbansal@usgs.gov 701-368-0222
Wildlife Biologist David Brandt dbrandt@usgs.gov 701-253-5535
Statistician Deborah Buhl dbuhl@usgs.gov 701-253-5532
Biological Science Technician Thomas Buhl tbuhl@usgs.gov 701-253-5530
IT Specialist David Cunningham dcunningham@usgs.gov 701-269-8933
Administrative Operations Assistant Marlie E Desarmes mdesarmes@usgs.gov 701-840-5297
Administrative Officer Karl Ellcessor kellcessor@usgs.gov 701-368-8199
Research Ecologist Kristen Ellis, PhD kellis@usgs.gov 701-253-5505
Center Director Robert Gleason rgleason@usgs.gov 701-368-9026
Research Ecologist Lawrence Igl, PhD ligl@usgs.gov 701-269-9918
Research Statistician Emeritus Douglas Johnson douglas_h_johnson@usgs.gov 612-624-4716
Administrative Operations Assistant Jennifer Kapp jkapp@usgs.gov 701-253-5500
Scientist Emeritus Gary Krapu, PhD gkrapu@usgs.gov
Geographer Audrey Lothspeich alothspeich@usgs.gov 218-839-9055
Laborer/Custodian Judy Lundgren jlundgren@usgs.gov 701-368-8733
Biologist Garrett MacDonald gmacdonald@usgs.gov 701-253-5540
Research Ecologist Owen McKenna, PhD omckenna@usgs.gov 701-253-5527
Research Ecologist Kyle I McLean, PhD kmclean@usgs.gov 701-253-5539
Senior Research Scientist David Mech, PhD david_mech@usgs.gov 651-647-0408
Biologist Jacob Meier jmeier@usgs.gov 701-253-5580
Statistician Emeritus Wesley Newton wnewton@usgs.gov
Research Ecologist Clint Otto, PhD cotto@usgs.gov 701-368-9028
Research Wildlife Biologist Aaron Pearse, PhD apearse@usgs.gov 701-253-5509
Chief - Spatial and Ecological Analytics Branch Max Post van der Burg, PhD maxpostvanderburg@usgs.gov 701-253-5574
Budget Analyst Nancy Pranke npranke@usgs.gov 701-253-5554
Biologist Megan Ring mring@usgs.gov 701-320-3884
GIS Specialist William Sands wsands@usgs.gov 701-253-5526
Research Wildlife Biologist Glen Sargeant gsargeant@usgs.gov 701-253-5528
Ecologist Jill Shaffer jshaffer@usgs.gov 701-253-5547
Deputy Center Director Mark Sherfy msherfy@usgs.gov 701-253-5504
Wildlife Biologist Matthew Solensky msolensky@usgs.gov 701-253-5503
Scientist Emeritus Larry Strong lstrong@usgs.gov 701-253-5500
Research Ecologist Rose J. Swift, PhD rswift@usgs.gov 701-253-5506
Chief - Climate and Land-use Branch Amy J. Symstad, PhD asymstad@usgs.gov 605-745-1191
Ecologist Brian Tangen btangen@usgs.gov 402-328-4134
Ecologist Dustin Toy dtoy@usgs.gov 701-368-1870
Research Ecologist Jay A VonBank, PhD jvonbank@usgs.gov 701-368-0177
Maintenance Worker Josh Wheeler jwheeler@usgs.gov 701-269-0409
IT Specialist Joseph Woiwode jwoiwode@usgs.gov
Facilities Manager Bryan Wolla bwolla@usgs.gov 701-269-7006
Management Analyst April Zimney azimney@usgs.gov 701-368-1588
Maintenance Worker Chris Zinke czinke@usgs.gov 701-269-0410
Biologist Chad R. Zirbel, PhD czirbel@usgs.gov 701-253-5500