Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

What administrative areas of the United States are included in Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)?

  • 50 States 

  • District of Columbia 

  • Dependent Areas: American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, U.S. Minor Outlying Islands (includes Baker Island (Pacific), Howland Island (Pacific), Jarvis Island (Pacific), Johnston Island (Pacific), Kingman Reef (Pacific), Midway Islands (Pacific), Palmyra Atoll (Pacific), Navassa Island (Caribbean), Wake Island (Pacific)

For geographic names outside the United States go to Geographic Names Server (GNS) that is hosted by the National-Geospatial Intelligence Agency. The GNS is the official repository of standard spellings of all foreign geographic names, sanctioned by the United States Board on Geographic Names (BGN). 

Learn More: United States - The World Factbook