Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Map of U.S. Extended Continental Shelf Regions

Detailed Description

The United States has ECS in seven offshore areas: the Arctic, Atlantic (east coast), Bering Sea, Pacific (west coast), Mariana Islands, and two areas in the Gulf of Mexico.  The U.S. ECS area is approximately one million square kilometers – an area about twice the size of California.


Public Domain.