Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Rock Units of the National Center Site

Detailed Description

Rock units on the USGS National Center site

Cenozoic Era

Alluvium (Quaternary) — layered stream deposits of sand, gravel, silt, and clay.

Mesozoic Era

Diabase (Jurassic) — about 195-million-year-old, dark-colored, intrusive igneous rock composed primarily of plagioclase feldspar and pyroxene.

Hornfels (Jurassic) — about 195-million-year-old, gray to mauve metamorphic rock. Diabase intrusion changed the original Triassic shale and siltstone from soft sediments to hard, brittle hornfels.

Sandstone (Triassic) — about 220-million-year-old, red-brown to gray, feldspar and mica-bearing sandstone interbedded with siltstone and shale (member of Manassas Sandstone).

Conglomerate (Triassic) — crudely bedded quartz and schist pebbles in a sandstone and shale matrix (member of Manassas Sandstone).

Precambrian Era

Schist (Late Proterozoic) — about 550- to 650-million-year- shiny dark green to gray, foliated metamorphic rock containing mica, chlorite, feldspar, and quartz; commonly cut by quartz veins (Peters Creek Schist).