Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government


Detailed Description

Dr. Itiya Aneece and Dr. Prasad S. Thenkabail of the Western Geographic Science Center (WGSC), USGS won the Talbert Abrams Grand Prize Award 2022, the Highest Scientific Paper Award of the American Society of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ASPRS) for their paper entitled “New Generation Hyperspectral Sensors DESIS and PRISMA Provide Improved Agricultural Crop Classifications” published in the ASPRS Journal the Photogrammetric Engineering & Remote Sensing (PE&RS).  The award was received by Dr. Itiya Aneece and Dr. Prasad S. Thenkabail in Denver, CO during the GeoWeek Conference held in Denver, CO from February 13-17, 2023. The award was given by the current (2023-2024) ASPRS President Dr. Lorraine Amenda.


Aneece, I., and Thenkabail. P. 2022. New generation hyperspectral sensor (DESIS and PRISMA) performances in Agriculture. Photogrammetric Engineering and Remote Sensing, 88 (11):715-729.


The paper is open access and can be downloaded from:



Public Domain.