ANSS Committees

Science Center Objects


National Steering Committee

Maureen Long (Chair) Yale University
Dixon, Maximilian (National Emergency Management Assoc.) Washington State Emergency Management Division
Shelly, David (USGS Geologic Hazards Science Center) U.S. Geological Survey Golden, Colorado
Gregor, Nick (EERI- Research) Bechtel
Gillman, Joe (AASG) Montana Bureau of Mines and Geology, Montana Tech of the Univ. of Montana
Busby, Robert (IRIS Consortium) Incoporated Research Institutions for Seismology
Kolozvari, Kristijan (EERI-Structures) California State University, Fullerton
Hardebeck, Jeanne (USGS Earthquake Hazards Science Center) U.S. Geological Survey Menlo Park California
Wong, Ivan (EERI Geotechnical) Lettis Consultants International
Chapman, Martin (SSA) Virginia Tech

The ANSS National Steering Committee is made up of the following representatives:

  • COSMOS - 1 COSMOS Engineer
  • AASG - 1 State Geologist with ties to WSSPC, CUSEC, and NESEC
  • NEMA - 1 State Emergency Manager with ties to WSSPC, CUSEC, and NESEC
  • EERI - 1 Geotechnical Engineer, 1 Engineer, Research, 1 Structural Engineer (strong motion)
  • IRIS/USARRAY - 1 Seismologist, Research
  • SSA - 1 Seismologist, Research
  • USGS - 1 Central Hazards Team representative, 1 Western Earthquake Hazards Team representative

FEMA, NSF, and NIST would have advisory (non-voting) seats on the steering committee.

National Implementation Committee

Pankow, Kristine Inter-Mountain West Coordinator
Tobin, Harold Pacific Northwest Coordinator
West, Michael Alaska Coordinator
Chang, Jefferson Hawaii Coordinator
Gee, Lind California Coordinator
Steidl, Jamison National Strong-Motion Coordinator
Withers, Mitch Central & Eastern US Coordinator
Earle, Paul National Earthquake Information Center Representative
Given, Doug Earthquake Early Warning Coordinator