Science Center Objects

Get information on and locations of geomagnetic observatories operated by the USGS and partners of the USGS geomagnetism program.

The USGS Geomagnetism Program currently operates 14 magnetic observatories. Magnetometer data are collected at these facilities, and the data are then transmitted to Program headquarters in Golden Colorado. The geographic distribution of the Program’s observatories, shown below, has been determined by the need to monitor and study the geomagnetic field on a global scale, primarily for purposes of space-weather diagnosis and main field modelling and mapping, as well as the practical issues of availability of land, communication and operational logistics, and the relative locations of observatories operated by other foreign-national programs.

Explore all of the USGS Geomagnetic observatories with this Google EarthTM download or browse each one below.

globe with triangle symbols and labels for geomagnetic observatory locations

Map of USGS Magnetic observatory locations. (Public domain.)

BOU - Boulder

BRW - Barrow

BSL - Stennis

CMO - College

DED - Deadhorse

FRD - Fredericksburg

FRN - Fresno

GUA - Guam

HON - Honolulu

NEW - Newport

SHU - Shumagin

SIT - Sitka

SJG - San Juan

TUC - Tucson


Non-USGS Publications