Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Fish Rhabdoviruses (Rhabdoviridae)

February 24, 2021

The family Rhabdoviridae currently has 18 genera accepted by the International Committee for Virus Taxonomy (ICTV), and three of those genera contain fish rhabdoviruses. In the genera Novirhabdovirus, Sprivivirus, and Perhabdovirus all viruses infect fish hosts, and there are no fish viruses in any of the other 15 rhabdovirus genera. In the overall phylogeny of the Rhabdoviridae the three fish virus genera are well separated from each other, and the novirhabdovirus genus occupies a position basal to all other genera.

Publication Year 2021
Title Fish Rhabdoviruses (Rhabdoviridae)
Authors Gael Kurath, David B. Stone
Publication Type Book Chapter
Publication Subtype Book Chapter
Index ID 70218649
Record Source USGS Publications Warehouse
USGS Organization Western Fisheries Research Center