Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Revised taxonomy of rhabdoviruses infecting fish and marine mammals

May 26, 2022

Rhabdoviridae is a large family of negative-sense (-) RNA viruses that includes important pathogens of ray-finned fish and marine mammals. As for all viruses, the taxonomic assignment of rhabdoviruses occurs through a process implemented by the International Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses (ICTV). A recent revision of taxonomy conducted in conjunction with the ICTV Rhabdoviridae Study Group has resulted in the establishment of three new subfamilies (Alpharhabdovirinae, Betarhabdovirinae, and Gammarhabdovirinae) within the Rhabdoviridae, as well as three new genera (Cetarhavirus, Siniperhavirus, and Scophrhavirus) and seven new species for viruses infecting fish or marine mammals. All rhabdovirus species have also now been named or renamed to comply with the binomial format adopted by the ICTV in 2021, comprising the genus name followed by a species epithet. Phylogenetic analyses of L protein (RNA-dependent RNA polymerase) sequences of (-) RNA viruses indicate that members of the genus Novirhabdovirus (subfamily Gammarhabdovirinae) do not cluster within the Rhabdoviridae, suggesting the need for a review of their current classification.

Publication Year 2022
Title Revised taxonomy of rhabdoviruses infecting fish and marine mammals
DOI 10.3390/ani12111363
Authors Peter J. Walker, Laurent Bigarré, Gael Kurath, Laurent Dacheux, Laurane Pallandre
Publication Type Article
Publication Subtype Journal Article
Series Title Animals
Index ID 70234389
Record Source USGS Publications Warehouse
USGS Organization Western Fisheries Research Center