Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Earthquake Intensity Scale (Abridged)

April 2022 (approx.)

Detailed Description

Earthquake Intensity Scale (Abridged). The Modified Mercalli Intensity (MMI) Scale is composed of increasing levels of intensity that range from imperceptible shaking to catastrophic destruction; levels of intensity are designated by Roman numerals. The MMI Scale does not have a mathematical basis; instead, it is a holistic ranking based on observed effects. The lower range of the MMI scale generally deals with the manner in which the earthquake is felt by people. The higher range considers observed structural damage.


Public Domain.