Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Helpful Information

The USGS and U.S. Department of the Interior uphold its trust responsibilities to foster the government-to-government relationship between the federal government and the federally recognized American Indian and Alaska Native tribes.

The following are links to information and websites related to American Indian and Alaska Natives.

U.S. Geological Survey

The USGS National Climate Adaptation Science Center (NCASC)
NCASC is the managing entity for the eight regional Department of the Interior Climate Adaptation Science Centers (CASCs). Native Americans, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, Pacific Islanders, and other indigenous peoples and communities are particularly vulnerable to the impacts of climate change. The CASCs are working with tribes and indigenous communities to better understand their specific vulnerabilities to climate change and to help them adapt to these impacts. 

USGS Tribal Consultation
The Department of the Interior has established a joint federal-tribal team to develop a Department-wide policy on tribal consultation with certain goals. 

Other Federal Agencies and Bureaus

Department of the Interior — Tribal Nations 
The Department is committed to tribal prosperity and to helping address challenges in the areas of economic development, education, and law enforcement. The Department supports Indian self-determination to ensure that tribes have a strong voice in shaping federal policies that directly impact their ability to govern themselves and provide for the safety, education and economic security of their citizens. The Department provides services directly, or through contracts, grants or compacts, to 567 federally recognized tribes with a combined service population of approximately 1.9 million American Indians and Alaska Natives. 

Bureau of Indian Affairs 
Indian Affairs is the oldest bureau of the U.S. Department of Interior.  Established in 1824, IA currently provides services (directly or through contracts, grants, or compacts) to approximately 1.9 million American Indians and Alaska Natives. There are 573 federally recognized American Indian tribes and Alaska Native Villages in the United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) is responsible for the administration and management of 55 million surface acres and 57 million acres of subsurface minerals estates held in trust by the United States for American Indian, Indian tribes, and Alaska Natives. Bureau of Indian Education (BIE) provides education services to approximately 42,000 Indian students.

Environmental Protection Agency — American Indian Environmental Office 
EPA works to protect human health and the environment of federally recognized tribes by supporting implementation of federal environmental laws, with a special emphasis on helping tribes administer their own environmental programs. These efforts are consistent with the federal trust responsibility, the government-to-government relationship, and EPA's 1984 Indian Policy.

National Museum of the American Indian 
The National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI) is committed to advancing knowledge and understanding of the Native cultures of the Western Hemisphere—past, present, and future—through partnership with Native people and others. The museum works to support the continuance of culture, traditional values, and transitions in contemporary Native life.