Skip to main content

External Grants

The USGS supports external research that will assist in achieving the goals of the National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP).

Annual Competitive Grants

External Grants issues an annual Program announcement for competitive proposals for grants and cooperative agreements to support research in earthquake hazards, the physics of earthquakes, earthquake occurrence, and earthquake safety policy. To find out when the next application period will be, you can enroll on the website to receive an email notification regarding "CFDA number 15.807 application period openings": Manage Subscriptions.

During the Application period, applicants must submit proposals and other required documents through; paper copies will not be accepted. Please note that the requirements and other guidance for submitting proposals, as wells as annual updates of research priorities, referred to as the Program Announcement, can only be accessed through


Contact Jill Franks, Manager for External Grants, or Deb McCray Skinner, Program Analyst for External Grants.

Funded External Grants/Cooperative Agreements and Final Technical Reports

Earthquake Hazards Program Grant Proposal Success Rate


Year Proposals reviewed by panels Proposals funded Proposals recomm. for support
by Peer Panels, but insufficient funds available to support
Proposals NOT
recomm. for support by panels
2021 246 57 80 109
2020 213 72 57 84
2019 212 66 34 112
2018 199 60 64 75
2017 212 62 89 61
2016 211 66 65 80
2015 203 80 38 85
2014 198 76 50 72
2013 221 59 68 94
2012 187 73 44 70
2011 208 76 47 85
2010 237 65 66 106
2009 162 80 26 56

About External Research Grants

The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) provides support for research that will assist in achieving the goals of the Earthquake Hazards Program. The goal is to mitigate earthquake losses that can occur in many parts of the nation by providing earth science data and assessments essential for land-use planning, engineering design, and emergency preparedness decisions.

The USGS participates in earthquake science activities with the National Science Foundation (NSF), the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP) and the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), the last having the lead role to plan and coordinate the national effort. In addition to activities performed by USGS staff, expertise in earthquake studies that exist outside the Federal Government is applied through a substantial program of grants, cooperative agreements, and/or contracts with universities, state, regional and local government agencies, and private industry. External research is solicited in order to develop information, knowledge, and methods which are relevant to the major program elements.

Unsolicited Proposals may be submitted out of cycle only in cases where there is a compelling circumstance or emergency that must be acted on before the next competitive grant cycle.  Proposers should contact the appropriate Regional or Topical Coordinator prior to submitting out-of-cycle proposals. See Guidance for submitting unsolicited proposals.


  • Manager, Associate Program Coordinator- Ms. Jill Franks
  • Contracting Officer, Office of Acquisition & Grants- Ms. Margaret Eastman
  • Program Analyst, External Research Program- Ms. Deborah Skinner
  • ANSS Coordinator- Dr. Cecily Wolfe
  • Earthquake Early Warning Regional Coordinator- Mr. Doug Given
  • ShakeAlert Chief Scientist- Dr. Jeffrey McGuire
  • Geodesy Coordinator- Dr. Benjamin Brooks
  • Alaska Regional Coordinator- Dr. Peter Haeussler
  • Central & Eastern US Regional Coordinator- Dr. Thomas Pratt
  • Engineering Seismology and Impacts (ESI)- Dr. Eric Thompson
  • Earthquake Physics Research Topical Coordinator- Dr. Nick Beeler
  • Intermountain West Regional Coordinator- Dr. Christopher DuRoss/Dr. Ryan Gold
  • National Regional Coordinators- Dr. Morgan Moschetti
  • Northern California Regional Coordinator- Dr. Keith Knudsen
  • Pacific Northwest Regional Co-Coordinators- Dr. Brian Sherrod, Dr. Joan Gomberg 
  • Southern California Regional Coordinator- Dr. Kate Scharer