Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Member Directory

The U.S. Board on Geographic Names is comprised of representatives of Federal agencies who share the responsibility of standardizing geographic names with the Secretary of the Interior. Members and deputy members are appointed every two years. The committee on which the agency serves is identified next to the agency name.


United States Board on Geographic Names   

Chair: Michael Tischler

Department of the Interior

Vice Chair: Susan Lyon

Department of Defense


Executive Secretary for Domestic Names


U.S. Geological Survey

523 National Center

Reston, VA 20192-0523



Executive Secretary for Foreign Names

Derek Hoffman

National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency

3838 Vogel Road, L-110

Arnold, MO 63010

Phone: (314) 676-1251



Members and Deputy Members (October 1, 2021 - September 30, 2023)

Department of Agriculture (Domestic Names)

Member: Elizabeth K. (Betsy) Kanalley, U.S. Forest Service

Deputy Member: Melanie Riley, U.S. Forest Service

                           Alex Stum, Natural Resources Conservation Service


Central Intelligence Agency (Foreign Names)

Member: Christopher G.

Deputy Members: Ingert K., Foreign Names Committee Vice-Chair

                             Tom C.


Department of Commerce (Domestic Names and Foreign Names)

Member: Tara Wallace, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Deputy Members: Kenia Allen, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

                            William R. Bredemeyer, Bureau of the Census

                            Thaddeus Ellerbe, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

                            Andrew Flora, Bureau of the Census


Department of Defense (Domestic Names and Foreign Names)

Member: Susan Lyon, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Domestic Names Committee Chair

Deputy Members: Andrew Griffin, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

                            David de Hosson, DoD

                            Richard Ilvarsonn, DoD

                            Gregory M., DoD

                            David Miller, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency

                            Stephen Norton, DoD

                            Marilyn Withers, DoD


Government Publishing Office (Domestic Names)

Member: Brenda-Anne C. Forrest

Deputy Member: vacant


Department of Homeland Security (Domestic Names and Foreign Names)

Member: Meghan Barrett

Deputy Member: Curtis Ross


Department of the Interior (Domestic Names)

Member: Michael Tischler, U.S. Geological Survey

Deputy Members: Wendi-Starr Brown, Bureau of Indian Affairs

                            Jessica Campbell, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service                            

                            Chris Hammond, U.S. Geological Survey

                            Patrick Mahoney, Bureau of Land Management

                            Michael Shelton, National Park Service

                            Jeremy Smith, Bureau of Ocean Energy Management


Library of Congress (Domestic Names and Foreign Names)

Member: Paulette Hasier

Deputy Members: Veronica Ranieri

                            Timothy St. Onge, Domestic Names Committee Vice-Chair


Postal Service (Domestic Names)

Member: Alesha Perdomo

Deputy Member: Liz Flake


Department of State (Foreign Names)

Member: Brooke Marston, Foreign Names Committee Chair

Deputy Members: Michael Crino, U.S. Agency for International Development

                            Eric Doornbos

                            M. Scott Thompson, U.S. Agency for International Development


Advisory Committees:

Antarctic Names (ACAN)

Chair: Scott Borg, National Science Foundation, retired

Members: Raymond Arnaudo, Department of State, retired

                Manuel Castro, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency

                Bob Glover, U.S. Geological Survey

                William Muntean, U.S. Department of State

                Tom Neumann, National Aeronautics and Space Administration

                Mark Rockmore, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency, retired

                George Troop, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency, retired

Secretary: Roger L. Payne, U.S. Geological Survey



Undersea Features (ACUF)

Chair: Meredith Westington, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Members: Ginger Barth, U.S. Geological Survey

                Ashton Flinders, U.S. Geological Survey

                Norman Z. Cherkis, Naval Research Laboratory, retired

                James Moore, Bureau of Ocean Energy Management

                John Smith, University of Hawaii, retired

                Tara Wallace, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

                Gerard (Gerry) J. Walter, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency

                Amanda Williams, Department of State

Secretary: Leigha Peterson, NGA



Extra-Terrestrial Features

Chair: vacant

Secretary: Tenielle Gaither, U.S. Geological Survey


Last Update: 07/13/23