Tribal Relations Members

USGS Office of Tribal Relations (OTR) works with the Bureau to establish policy and to coordinate USGS activities. The OTR staff consists of two full-time personnel, the Head of OTR and the Bureau Tribal Partnership Coordinator, and USGS staff who serve collaterally as Mission Area Tribal Advisors or Regional Tribal Liaisons. Please contact any of the individuals listed below for more information.

Head, Office of Tribal Relations
   Chris Hammond | chammond@usgs.gov | 703-648-6621

Bureau Tribal Partnership Coordinator
   Monique Fordham | mfordham@usgs.gov | 703-648-4437

USGS Regional Tribal Liaisons 

Region 1: North Atlantic-Appalachian
   Peter Murdoch | pmurdoch@usgs.gov | 518-285-5663

Region 2: South Atlantic–Gulf / Region 4: Mississippi Basin / Region 6: Arkansas-Rio Grande-Texas-Gulf
   Athena Clark | athclark@usgs.gov | 334-395-4141

Region 3: Great Lakes / Region 5: Missouri Basin
   Bryan Richards | brichards@usgs.gov | 608-270-2485

Region 7: Upper Colorado Basin
   Robert Horton | rhorton@usgs.gov | 303-236-1338

Region 8: Lower Colorado Basin / Region 10: California-Great Basin
   Carol Ostergren | costergren@usgs.gov | 916-278-9510 and 
   Russ Taylor-Grimes | rtaylor-grimes@usgs.gov | 916-278-3000     

Region 9: Columbia-Pacific Northwest / Region 12: Pacific Islands
   Lief Horwitz | lief_horwitz@usgs.gov | 206-220-4616

Region 11: Alaska
   Elizabeth Powers | epowers@usgs.gov | 907-786-7085

    ⇒ Learn more about the USGS Regions

USGS Mission Area Tribal Advisors 

Core Science Systems
   Cindy Thatcher | thatcherc@usgs.gov | 703-648-5122

Ecosystems
   Joseph Bunnell | jbunnell@usgs.gov | 703-648-6497

Energy and Minerals
   Donna Beaver Pizzarelli | dpizzarelli@usgs.gov | 973-409-1988

Natural Hazards    
   Eric Grossman | egrossman@usgs.gov | 831-427-4725

Water Resources    
   Douglas Yeskis | djyeskis@usgs.gov | 703-648-5046

   ⇒ Learn more about the Mission Areas