Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Earthquake geology inputs for the U.S. National Seismic Hazard Model (NSHM) 2023, version 1.0

January 21, 2021

This Data Release contains preliminary versions of two related databases: 1) A fault sections database ("NSHM2023_FaultSections_v1"), which depicts the geometry of faults capable of hosting independent earthquakes, and 2) An earthquake geology site information database ("NSHM2023_EQGeoDB_v1"), which contains fault slip-rate constraints at points. These databases were prepared in anticipation of updates to the National Seismic Hazard Model (NSHM) 2023. Fault-specific geologic parameters for the NSHM have not been updated since the 2014 NSHM release. The datasets include the states of Washington, Oregon, California, Idaho, Nevada, Arizona, Montana, Wyoming, Colorado, New Mexico and Texas. Datasets containing fault information for Alaska and the Central and Eastern United States will be the subject of future efforts. These databases are provided as geospatial data (e.g., .SHP, .KML, .GeoJSON file formats) and tables (.CSV format).

Related Content