Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

LCMAP Class Legend and Description

LCMAP land cover products provide information about land cover classification, including land cover classification information for a given area before and after change is detected by Continuous Change Detection and Classification. The five land cover products are built on broad Anderson Land Cover Classification System Level 1 based classes.

LCMAP Level 1 Land Cover Classes

Chart demonstrating the land cover classes used by LCMAP.
Level 1 LCMAP land cover classifications as outlined in LCMAP products: Developed, Cropland, Grass/Shrub, Tree Cover, Water, Wetland, Ice/Snow, and Barren.