Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Advisory Council for Climate Adaptation Science

The Advisory Council for Climate Adaptation Science (ACCAS) advises the Secretary of the Interior on the operations of the Climate Adaptation Science Centers (CASCs).


The Council will provide recommendations on:

  • the contents of a national strategy identifying key climate adaptation science priorities to advance the management of natural and cultural resources in the face of climate change;
  • the nature, extent, and quality of relations with and engagement of key partners at the regional/Climate Adaptation Science Center (CASC) level;
  • the nature and effectiveness of mechanisms to effectively deliver science information and tools, and build capacity, to aid the natural and cultural resource management community and decision-makers in adapting to a changing climate;
  • mechanisms that may be employed by the NCASC to ensure high standards of scientific quality and integrity in its products; and
  • the integration of equity, particularly for historically underserved communities, in the operation of the NCASC and regional CASCs.

Learn more in the Council Charter.

Meeting Materials

Please use the links below to find additional information about each ACCAS meeting, including agendas, briefing packets, summary reports, presentations, etc.

ACCAS Meeting 1 (February 27-28, 2024)

Public Comment

Public comment for the ACCAS can be submitted via this form


Name Title Affiliation
David Reidmiller, Chair Director, Climate Center Gulf of Maine Research Institute
Collin O'Mara, Vice-Chair President and CEO National Wildlife Federation
Elizabeth Crosson Chief Sustainability, Resilience, and Innovation Officer Metropolitan Water District of Southern California
Michael Durglo, Jr. Head of the CSKT Tribal Historic Preservation Department Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes
Tim Fredricks Environmental Engagement Manager Bayer Crop Science
Elizabeth Gibbons Social Governance and National Resilience Lead Farallon Strategies
Ellen Herbert Senior Scientist, Sustainability and Nature Based Solutions Ducks Unlimited
Chris Hoving Climate Adaptation Specialist Michigan Department of Natural Resources
Meade Krosby Senior Scientist University of Washington
Harriet Morgan Climate Coordinator Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife
Susan Natali Senior Scientist and Arctic Program Director Woodwell Climate Research Center
Deyanira Nevárez Martínez Assistant Professor of Urban and Regional Planning Michigan State University
Benjamin Preston Senior Policy Researcher; Director of Community Health and Environmental Policy Rand Corporation
Erin Sikorsky Director Center for Climate and Security
Mervyn Tano President International Institute for Indigenous Resource Management
Galen Treuer Climate Tech and Economic Innovation Lead Miami-Dade County
Tiffany Turner Director, Center for Climate Solutions Theodore Roosevelt Conservation Partnership
Robert VanZile Jr. Tribal Chairman Sokaogon Chippewa Community
David Wegner Senior Consultant on Water, Climate Change and Asset Risk Assessment Woolpert Engineering