Due to a lapse in appropriations, the majority of USGS websites may not be up to date and may not reflect current conditions. Websites displaying real-time data, such as Earthquake and Water and information needed for public health and safety will be updated with limited support. Additionally, USGS will not be able to respond to inquiries until appropriations are enacted.  For more information, please see www.doi.gov/shutdown

Landsat Missions

Landsat Collections

In 2016, the USGS reorganized the Landsat archive into a tiered collection. This structure ensures that Landsat Level-1 products provide a consistent archive of known data quality to support time-series analyses and data “stacking”, while controlling continuous improvement of the archive and access to all data as they are acquired. 

The Collection definition consists of three categories: Tier 1, Tier 2, and Real-Time. Data in Tier 1 meet formal geometric and radiometric quality criteria. Tier 2 do not meet the Tier 1 criteria. The Real-Time Tier contains data immediately after acquisitions that use estimated parameters. Real-Time data are reprocessed and assessed for inclusion into Tier 1 or Tier 2 as soon as final parameters are available.

The implementation of Collections represents a significant change in the management of the Landsat Archive by ensuring consistent quality through time and across instruments, along with additional changes like metadata and file names.

Future Landsat Collection releases will be carefully planned and paced to bring timely improvements without imposing too frequent changes on the Landsat user community. For example, a centerpiece in Collection 2 will be improved absolute geometry using OLI-chips and the Sentinel 2 Global Reference Image database to increase the yield and accuracy of the Leve-1 standard terrain correction (L1TP) data.

Landsat Collection 1 

Landsat Collection 1 consists of Level-1 data products generated from Landsat 8 Operational Land Imager (OLI)/Thermal Infrared Sensor (TIRS), Landsat 7 Enhanced Thematic Mapper Plus (ETM+), Landsat 4-5 Thematic Mapper (TM), and Landsat 1-5 Multispectral Scanner (MSS) instruments. Collection 1 Level-2 and Level-3 Landsat Science Products inherit characteristics of the Landsat Collection 1 Level-1 data products.

Visit the Landsat Collection 1 page for more information and documentation. 

Documentation and Multimedia

Landsat 7 ETM+ Data Users Handbook

Landsat 8 OLI/TIRS Data Users Handbook