Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

South Central CASC

Established in 2012, the South Central CASC provides scientific information, tools, and techniques to resource managers and communities in Oklahoma, Texas, Louisiana, and New Mexico.

Map showing the South Central CASC consortium members and host university
Map of the South Central Climate Adaptation Science Center (SC CASC) region and consortium members. The SC CASC serves the states Oklahoma, Texas, Louisiana, and New Mexico. Its consortium includes the University of Oklahoma (Host), Texas Tech University, Louisiana State University, Chickasaw Nation, Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma, Oklahoma State University, and University of New Mexico

Established in 2012, the South Central Climate Adaptation Science Center (SC CASC) provides decision-makers with the science, tools, and information they need to address the impacts of climate variability and change on their areas of responsibility. The SC CASC seeks to transform how climate science is conducted and applied in the south-central United States. They support big thinking, including multi-institutional and stakeholder-driven approaches to assessing the impact of climate extremes on natural and cultural resources. Since its inception, the SC CASC has also made it a priority to focus on working with Tribal Nations in the region. 

To facilitate communication and collaboration with the 68 Tribal Nations in the region, the South CASC is joined by several Bureau of Indian Affairs Tribal Resilience Liaisons



  • University of Oklahoma (Host)
  • Chickasaw Nation
  • Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma
  • Louisiana State University
  • Oklahoma State University
  • Texas Tech University
  • University of New Mexico


Research Areas

  • Climate and People
  • Ecosystems and Wildlife
  • Water Resources
  • Extreme Events
  • Drought and Fire
  • Climate Projections


Key Documents & Reports


<< Learn more about the other regional CASCs