Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

How many volcanoes are in Alaska?

Alaska contains over 130 volcanoes and volcanic fields which have been active within the last two million years. Of these volcanoes, about 90 have been active within the last 10,000 years (and might be expected to erupt again), and more than 50 have been active within historical time (since about 1760, for Alaska). These volcanoes are catalogued on the Alaska Volcano Observatory Map & Alphabetical List website.

Learn more: USGS Alaska Volcano Observatory