Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

What is a Benchmark Glacier?

Benchmark Glacier” refers to four North American glaciers that have been selected for long-term glacier monitoring that investigates climate, glacier geometry, glacier mass balance, glacier motion, and stream runoff. Benchmark glaciers monitored by the USGS are:

  • Gulkana Glacier and Wolverine Glacier in Alaska
  • South Cascade Glacier in Washington
  • Sperry Glacier in Montana

Learn more: