Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Connect

The Alaska Science Center is located in Anchorage, AK. We also carry out research and monitoring from our field offices in Fairbanks and Juneau. Our staff consists of scientists, technicians, and support personnel who are committed to providing accurate and timely information to Alaska and the Nation.

Locations

Social Media

Contacts

Jamey Jones

Associate Center Director for Geology
Phone

Jeff Conaway

Associate Center Director for Water, Ice, and Landscape Dynamics
Phone

Employee Directory

Job Title Name Email Phone
Research Wildlife Biologist Layne Adams, Ph.D. ladams@usgs.gov 907-786-7159
Geneticist Christina Ahlstrom, Ph.D. cahlstrom@usgs.gov 907-786-7114
Student Trainee (Physical Science) Andy J Allard aallard@usgs.gov 907-786-7490
Research Ecologist Mayumi L Arimitsu, Ph.D. marimitsu@usgs.gov 907-364-1593
Research Wildlife Biologist Todd Atwood, Ph.D. tatwood@usgs.gov 907-786-7093
Hydrologic Technician Jason A Baker jbaker@usgs.gov 907-479-5645
Ext: 228
Geophysicist Emily Baker ehbaker@usgs.gov 907-786-7081
Research Physiologist Emeritus Brenda Ballachey, Ph.D. bballachey@usgs.gov 403-288-9184
Biologist Naomi Bargmann nbargmann@usgs.gov 907-786-7112
Geographer Carson A Baughman cbaughman@usgs.gov 907-786-7417
Geologist Adrian M Bender abender@usgs.gov 907-786-7421
Hydrologist Heather R Best hbest@usgs.gov 907-687-9515
Research Wildlife Biologist Emeritus James L Bodkin jbodkin@usgs.gov 907-786-7164
Volunteer Diedra Bohn -- --
IT Supervisor Geoffrey P Brady gbrady@usgs.gov 907-786-7061
Research Statistician Jeffrey Bromaghin, Ph.D. jbromaghin@usgs.gov 907-786-7086
Research Fish Biologist Michael P Carey, Ph.D. mcarey@usgs.gov 907-786-7197
Research Economic Geologist George Case gcase@usgs.gov 907-786-7472
Maintenance Worker Mark E Castor mcastor@usgs.gov 907-479-5645
Ext: 231
Hydrologic Technician Matthew P Chilson mchilson@usgs.gov 907-786-7151
Associate Center Director for Water, Ice, and Landscape Dynamics Jeff Conaway jconaway@usgs.gov 907-786-7041
Budget Analyst Marnelli T Cordero mcordero@usgs.gov 808-690-9561
Wildlife Biologist Gabrielle Coulombe gcoulombe@usgs.gov 907-786-7155
Hydrologic Technician Charles S Couvillion couvill@usgs.gov 907-786-7144
Research Chemist John Crusius jcrusius@usgs.gov 508-524-2496
Hydrologist Janet H Curran jcurran@usgs.gov 907-786-7128
Hydrologic Technician Barton Dengel bdengel@usgs.gov 907-786-7057
Biologist Daniel S Donnelly ddonnelly@usgs.gov 907-786-7091
Research Wildlife Biologist David Douglas ddouglas@usgs.gov 907-364-1576
Wildlife Biologist Gary S Drew, Ph.D. gdrew@usgs.gov 907-786-7168
Geologist Elizabeth K Drewes-Todd edrewes-todd@usgs.gov 907-786-7470
Research Geologist Julie A Dumoulin, Ph.D. dumoulin@usgs.gov 907-786-7439
Hydrologic Technician Timothy R Dunleavy dunleavy@usgs.gov 907-786-7108
Research Zoologist George Durner, Ph.D. gdurner@usgs.gov 907-786-7082
Research Wildlife Biologist Joseph Eisaguirre, Ph.D. jeisaguirre@usgs.gov 907-786-7062
Research Wildlife Biologist Emeritus Craig Ely, Ph.D. cely@usgs.gov 907-786-7182
Research Wildlife Biologist Daniel Esler, Ph.D. desler@usgs.gov 907-786-7068
Zoologist George G Esslinger gesslinger@usgs.gov 907-786-7044
Research Wildlife Biologist Anthony Fischbach afischbach@usgs.gov 907-786-7145
Research Wildlife Biologist Paul Flint, Ph.D. pflint@usgs.gov 907-786-7183
IT Specialist Bill Frazier bfrazier@usgs.gov 907-786-7064
Biologist Danielle Gerik dgerik@usgs.gov 907-786-7163
Research Wildlife Biologist Emeritus Robert E Gill, Jr. rgill@usgs.gov 907-947-0379
Communications and Outreach Yvette Gillies ygillies@usgs.gov 907-786-7039
Hydrologic Technician Jeffrey M Goetz jgoetz@usgs.gov 907-586-7216
Ext: 1
Research Geologist Peter J Haeussler, Ph.D. pheuslr@usgs.gov 907-786-7447
Hydrologist Jennifer Hamblen jhamblen@usgs.gov 907-209-1619
Budget Analyst Julie A Hammonds jhammonds@usgs.gov 907-786-7198
Research Wildlife Biologist Colleen Handel, Ph.D. cmhandel@usgs.gov 907-786-7181
IT Specialist (Data Management) Marla Hood mhood@usgs.gov 907-786-7080
Hydrologist Randy H Host rhost@usgs.gov 907-586-7216
Ext: 3
Budget Analyst Brian Hudgins bhudgins@usgs.gov 907-786-7156
Hydrologic Technician Derek S Iles diles@usgs.gov 907-786-7000
Maintenance Worker Robert M Jaquith rjaquith@usgs.gov 907-786-7134
Research Wildlife Biologist Heather Johnson, Ph.D. heatherjohnson@usgs.gov 907-786-7155
Associate Center Director for Geology Jamey Jones jvjones@usgs.gov 907-786-7442
Research Geologist Susan Karl skarl@usgs.gov 907-786-7428
IT Specialist Sheila M Kite skite@usgs.gov 907-786-7124
Biologist Kimberly A Kloecker kkloecker@usgs.gov 907-786-7196
Research Hydrologist Joshua C Koch, Ph.D. jkoch@usgs.gov 303-817-5595
Research Economic Geologist Douglas C Kreiner dkreiner@usgs.gov 907-786-7190
Administrative Officer Nicole Kriz nkriz@usgs.gov 907-786-7074
Physical Scientist Keith Labay klabay@usgs.gov 907-786-7410
Hydrologist Dustin E Langley dlangley@usgs.gov 907-479-5645
Ext: 221
Biologist Nicole LaRoche nlaroche@usgs.gov 907-786-7130
Fish Biologist Sarah Laske, Ph.D. slaske@usgs.gov 907-786-7419
Research Geologist Richard O Lease, Ph.D. rlease@usgs.gov 907-786-7169
Budget Analyst Starlyn Lenore slenore@usgs.gov 907-786-7117
IT Specialist Eugenia D Lino elino@usgs.gov 907-786-7412
Research Landscape Ecologist Rachel A Loehman, Ph.D. rloehman@usgs.gov 907-268-7226
Biologist Caitlin Marsteller cmarsteller@usgs.gov 907-786-7069
Research Wildlife Biologist Steven M Matsuoka smatsuoka@usgs.gov 907-786-7075
Mendenhall Postdoctoral Fellow Robert McDermott, Ph.D. rmcdermott@usgs.gov 907-786-7000
Biologist (Data Scientist) Laura McDuffie lmcduffie@usgs.gov 907-786-7172
IT Specialist (System Admin) Adeline C McEwen amcewen@usgs.gov 907-786-7084
Geophysicist Chris J McNeil cmcneil@usgs.gov 907-786-7081
Research Geneticist Damian M Menning, Ph.D. dmenning@usgs.gov 907-786-7466
Hydrologic Technician Abraham Meyerhofer ameyerhofer@usgs.gov 907-786-7005
Associate Center Director for Geology Marti L Miller mlmiller@usgs.gov 907-786-7437
Research Wildlife Biologist Daniel H Monson, Ph.D. dmonson@usgs.gov 907-786-7161
IT Specialist William T Newnham wnewnham@usgs.gov 907-786-7121
Biologist Robert T Ourso rtourso@usgs.gov 907-786-7148
Research Wildlife Biologist Anthony M Pagano, Ph.D. apagano@usgs.gov 907-538-2399
Wildlife Biologist Vijay P Patil, Ph.D. vpatil@usgs.gov 907-786-7178
Associate Center Director for Ecosystems John M. Pearce, Ph.D. jpearce@usgs.gov 907-786-7094
Research Wildlife Biologist John Piatt, Ph.D. jpiatt@usgs.gov 360-774-0516
Hydrologic Technician Jamie Pierce jlpierce@usgs.gov 907-586-7216
Geneticist Bobbi J Pierson bpierson@usgs.gov 907-786-7107
Physical Science Tech Alan L Pongratz apongratz@usgs.gov 907-786-7029
Research Wildlife Geneticist Andy Ramey, Ph.D. aramey@usgs.gov 907-786-7174
Wildlife Biologist John A Reed jareed@usgs.gov 907-786-7406
Hydrologic Technician Elizabeth Richards erichards@usgs.gov 907-479-5645
Ext: 3
Wildlife Biologist Rachel M Richardson rrichardson@usgs.gov 907-786-7194
Administrative Operations Assistant Mariah Ritschard mritschard@usgs.gov 907-786-7000
Wildlife Biologist Brian H Robinson brobinson@usgs.gov 907-786-7058
Research Wildlife Biologist Karyn Rode, Ph.D. krode@usgs.gov 907-342-5790
Research Wildlife Biologist Daniel R Ruthrauff, Ph.D. druthrauff@usgs.gov 907-786-7162
Physical Scientist Louis Sass, III lsass@usgs.gov 907-786-7460
Hydrologic Technician Paul V Schauer pschauer@usgs.gov 907-786-7141
Supv. Hydrologist Mathew F Schellekens matts@usgs.gov 907-479-5645
Ext: 222
Wildlife Biologist Sarah K Schoen sschoen@usgs.gov 907-786-7467
Geneticist Laura Scott, Ph.D. lscott@usgs.gov 907-786-7000
Wildlife Biologist John Severson, Ph.D. jpseverson@usgs.gov 907-786-7059
Biologist Kristin Simac ksimac@usgs.gov 907-786-7087
Supv. Hydrologic Technician Chad W Smith cwsmith@usgs.gov 907-786-7103
Geneticist Matthew M Smith mmsmith@usgs.gov 907-786-7184
Biologist Ashley Stanek astanek@usgs.gov 907-786-7411
Biologist Samuel Stark sstark@usgs.gov 907-786-7156
Research Geographer Eva A Stephani , Ph.D.
Research Vessel Captain Paul S Tate ptate@usgs.gov 907-786-7044
Research Statistician Rebecca Taylor, Ph.D. rebeccataylor@usgs.gov 907-786-7004
Geologist Evan E Thoms ethoms@usgs.gov 907-786-7409
Wildlife Biologist Lee Tibbitts ltibbitts@usgs.gov 907-786-7038
Secretary Anna Tiger atiger@usgs.gov 907-786-7185
IT Specialist Kayla Tilford ktilford@usgs.gov 907-786-7009
Research Geologist Erin Todd, Ph.D. etodd@usgs.gov 907-786-7441
Admin Operations Assistant Marion Townsend mtownsend@usgs.gov 907-786-7160
Biologist Sarah Traiger, Ph.D. straiger@usgs.gov 907-786-7068
Wildlife Biologist Brian Uher-Koch buher-koch@usgs.gov 907-786-7052
Research Wildlife Biologist Caroline R Van Hemert, Ph.D. cvanhemert@usgs.gov 907-786-7167
Research Fish Biologist Vanessa von Biela, Ph.D. vvonbiela@usgs.gov 907-786-7073
IT Specialist (Data Management) Dennis H Walworth dwalworth@usgs.gov 907-786-7001
Research Geologist Bronwen Wang, Ph.D. bwang@usgs.gov 907-786-7110
Volunteer David H Ward -- --
Wildlife Biologist Emily L Weiser, Ph.D. eweiser@usgs.gov 907-786-7089
Hydrologic Technician Kayla T Weller kweller@usgs.gov 907-786-7126
Research Geologist Frederic Wilson fwilson@usgs.gov 907-786-7448
Research Geologist Rob Witter, Ph.D. rwitter@usgs.gov 907-786-7404
Center Director Christian E Zimmerman, Ph.D. czimmerman@usgs.gov 907-786-7071