Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Connect

Below is the staff of the Ecosystems Mission Area.

Locations

Social Media

Employee Directory

Job Title Name Email Phone
Fish Biologist Jon Amberg, PhD jamberg@usgs.gov 608-781-6322
Research Wildlife Biologist David Andersen, PhD dea@usgs.gov 612-626-1222
Chief - Wildlife and Ecosystems Branch Michael Anteau, PhD manteau@usgs.gov 701-253-5507
Research Wildlife Biologist David Ausband, PhD dausband@usgs.gov
Environments Program Manager Lianne Ball, Ph.D. lball@usgs.gov 703-648-4028
Research Ecologist Sheel Bansal, PhD sbansal@usgs.gov 701-253-5544
Chief, National CASC Douglas T. Beard, Jr., Ph.D. dbeard@usgs.gov 571-265-4623
Landscape Program Coordinator Zachary H Bowen, Ph.D. bowenz@usgs.gov 970-226-9218
Wildlife Biologist David Brandt dbrandt@usgs.gov 701-253-5535
Statistician Deborah Buhl dbuhl@usgs.gov 701-253-5532
Biological Science Technician Thomas Buhl tbuhl@usgs.gov 701-253-5530
Research Wildlife Biologist Ryan C Burner, PhD rburner@usgs.gov 608-781-6203
Data Scientist, National CASC Sarah Burton sburton@usgs.gov
Research Physical Scientist Kristin Byrd, Ph.D. kbyrd@usgs.gov 650-439-2279
IT Specialist Mike Caucutt mcaucutt@usgs.gov 608-781-6345
Information Specialist Dawn E. Childs dchilds@usgs.gov 703-648-4080
Research Wildlife Biologist Courtney Conway, PhD cconway@usgs.gov 208-885-6176
Administrative Officer Shana Coulby scoulby@usgs.gov 703-648-4361
IT Specialist David Cunningham dcunningham@usgs.gov 701-253-5552
Research Ecologist Melanie Davis, PhD melaniedavis@usgs.gov 614-519-3107
Research Wildlife Biologist Brett A. DeGregorio, PhD bdegregorio@usgs.gov
Senior Program Biologist Don Dennerline, PhD ddennerline@usgs.gov 706-705-6042
Chief, Geospatial Sciences and Technologies Branch Jennifer J Dieck jdieck@usgs.gov 608-781-6382
Research Wildlife Biologist Grace V. DiRenzo, PhD gdirenzo@usgs.gov 413-545-4888
Research Fish Biologist Corey G. Dunn, PhD cdunn@usgs.gov
Administrative Officer Karl Ellcessor kellcessor@usgs.gov 701-253-5501
Research Ecologist Kristen Ellis, PhD kellis@usgs.gov 701-253-5505
Information Specialist Meaghan Emory memory@usgs.gov
Biosurveillance Network Coordinator James J. English, Ph.D jjenglish@usgs.gov 571-271-4195
Research Quantitative Ecologist Richard Erickson, PhD rerickson@usgs.gov 608-783-6451
Research Ecologist Matthew Falcy, PhD mfalcy@usgs.gov
Ecologist Rebecca Finger-Higgens, Ph.D. rfinger-higgens@usgs.gov
Research Wildlife Biologist Mark Ford, PhD wford@usgs.gov 540-231-5927
Research Wildlife Biologist Drew N. Fowler, PhD dfowler@usgs.gov
Biologist Andrea Fritts, PhD afritts@usgs.gov 608-781-6284
Research Ecologist David Fulton, PhD dcf@usgs.gov 612-625-5256
Management Analyst Amanda Gelsomin agelsomin@usgs.gov (703) 648-4266
Supervisory Biologist Barry Grand, PhD barry_grand@usgs.gov 344-844-4796
Ecologist Saira Haider shaider@usgs.gov 954-377-5985
Terrestrial Invasive Species Program Manager Paul Heimowitz pheimowitz@usgs.gov 703-295-2638
Wildlife Disease Specialist M. Camille Hopkins, DVM, MS, PhD, DACVPM mchopkins@usgs.gov 703-648-4019
Research Ecologist Jeff Houser, PhD jhouser@usgs.gov 608-781-6262
Fisheries Program Manager Dave Hu dhu@usgs.gov 703-648-4098
Research Ecologist Lawrence Igl, PhD ligl@usgs.gov 701-253-5511
Research Statistician Emeritus Douglas Johnson douglas_h_johnson@usgs.gov 612-624-4716
Administrative Assistant Jennifer Kapp jkapp@usgs.gov 701-253-5570
Research Wildlife Biologist Matthew Kauffman, PhD mkauffman@usgs.gov 307-766-6404
Energy & Wildlife Program Specialist Mona Khalil, Ph.D. mkhalil@usgs.gov 703-648-6499
Associate Director Anne Kinsinger akinsinger@usgs.gov 703-648-4051
Research Wildlife Biologist Bob Klaver, PhD bklaver@usgs.gov 515-294-7639
Aquatic Invasive Species Program Manager Patrick M Kocovsky pkocovsky@usgs.gov 571-205-1487
Scientist Emeritus Gary Krapu, PhD gkrapu@usgs.gov 701-253-5536
Research Wildlife Biologist Diane Larson, PhD dlarson@usgs.gov 651-649-5041
Environmental Health Deputy Program Coordinator Kathy E Lee klee@usgs.gov 651-338-6341
Supervisory Biologist Cyndy Loftin, PhD cyndy_loftin@usgs.gov 207-581-2843
Laborer/Custodian Judy Lundgren jlundgren@usgs.gov 701-253-5562
Biologist Garrett MacDonald gmacdonald@usgs.gov 701-253-5540
Physical Scientist Madeline Martin mtmartin@usgs.gov 202-213-8603
Biologist Jennifer McClain-Counts jmcclaincounts@usgs.gov 352-264-3578
Research Wildlife Biologist Conor McGowan, PhD cmcgowan@usgs.gov 334-844-9231
Research Ecologist Owen McKenna, PhD omckenna@usgs.gov 701-253-5527
Research Ecologist Kyle I McLean, PhD kmclean@usgs.gov 701-253-5539
Senior Management Administrative Officer Shirlie A McManus smcmanus@usgs.gov 703-648-5825
Senior Research Scientist David Mech, PhD david_mech@usgs.gov 651-649-5231
Biologist Jacob Meier jmeier@usgs.gov 701-253-5580
Land Management Program Manager Claudia Mengelt, PhD cmengelt@usgs.gov 571-329-6661
Geneticist Chris M Merkes cmerkes@usgs.gov 608-781-6316
Information Technology Specialist Makani E. Miller makanimiller@usgs.gov 808-985-6422
Research Fish Biologist Michael J. Moore, PhD mmoore@usgs.gov
Data Scientist, National CASC Carol Morel cmorel@usgs.gov 571-512-1584
Associate Director for Studies Douglas L. Moyer dlmoyer@usgs.gov 804-261-2634
Research Ecologist Christina A. Murphy, PhD camurphy@usgs.gov
Statistician Emeritus Wesley Newton wnewton@usgs.gov 701-253-5523
Research Ecologist Clint Otto, PhD cotto@usgs.gov 701-253-5563
Senior Program Officer Tina Palmer tpalmer@usgs.gov 916-278-9488
Research Wildlife Biologist Aaron Pearse, PhD apearse@usgs.gov 701-253-5509
Administrative Program Assistant Sumina Pokharel spokharel@usgs.gov (703) 648-4264
Chief - Spatial and Ecological Analytics Branch Max Post van der Burg, PhD maxpostvanderburg@usgs.gov 701-253-5574
Research Wildlife Biologist Abby Powell, PhD abby_powell@usgs.gov 352-846-0543
Budget Analyst Nancy Pranke npranke@usgs.gov 701-253-5554
Research Ecologist Lillian T. Raz, PhD ltuttleraz@usgs.gov
Deputy Center Director Robert Reed reedr@usgs.gov 808-313-1041
Environmental Health Deputy Program Coordinator Timothy Reilly tjreilly@usgs.gov 609-771-3962
Biologist Megan Ring mring@usgs.gov 701-253-5520
Biologist Mark Roth mroth@usgs.gov 608-781-6306
GIS Specialist William Sands wsands@usgs.gov 701-253-5526
Research Wildlife Biologist Glen Sargeant gsargeant@usgs.gov 701-253-5528
Chemist Justin R Schueller jschueller@usgs.gov 608-881-6340
Research Ecologist Sarah N. Sells, PhD ssells@usgs.gov
Outreach Biologist, Pacific Islands CASC Emily Sesno esesno@usgs.gov
Statistician Emeritus Terry Shaffer tshaffer@usgs.gov 701-253-5522
Ecologist Jill Shaffer jshaffer@usgs.gov 701-253-5547
Biologist Michael Simanonok, PhD msimanonok@usgs.gov 701-253-5514
Biologist Stacy C Simanonok ssimanonok@usgs.gov 701-253-5531
Research Ecologist Helen Sofaer hsofaer@usgs.gov 808-985-6444
Outreach Coordinator Suzanna Soileau ssoileau@usgs.gov 406-994-7257
Wildlife Biologist Matthew Solensky msolensky@usgs.gov 701-253-5503
Research Wildlife Biologist Sarah A Sonsthagen, PhD ssonsthagen@usgs.gov 402-472-0449
Scientist Emeritus Jeffrey Spendelow, Ph.D. jspendelow@usgs.gov 301-497-5665
Research Ecologist Jonathan J. Spurgeon, PhD jspurgeon@usgs.gov
Data Scientist, National CASC Michiko Squires msquires@usgs.gov
Wildland Fire Science Coordinator Paul Steblein psteblein@usgs.gov 703-648-6895
Species Management Program Coordinator Melanie Steinkamp msteinkamp@usgs.gov 703-648-4076
Biologist Andrew Strassman astrassman@usgs.gov 608-781-6386
Scientist Emeritus Larry Strong lstrong@usgs.gov 701-253-5524
Program Coordinator Ariana E. Sutton-Grier, PhD asutton-grier@usgs.gov 703-261-5258
Research Ecologist Rose J. Swift, PhD rswift@usgs.gov 701-253-5506
Chief - Climate and Land-use Branch Amy J. Symstad, PhD asymstad@usgs.gov 605-745-1191
Invasive and Disease Program Coordinator Cynthia Tam ctam@usgs.gov 703-648-4023
Ecologist Brian Tangen btangen@usgs.gov 402-328-4134
Deputy Chief John Thompson, PhD jthompson@usgs.gov 703-648-4262
Ecologist Dustin Toy dtoy@usgs.gov 701-253-5565
Biologist, National CASC Jackson B Valler jvaller@usgs.gov
Ecologist Molly Van Appledorn, PhD mvanappledorn@usgs.gov 608-781-6323
Ecosystems Mission Area IACUC Administrator Guelaguetza Vazquez-Meves gvazquez-meves@usgs.gov 703-648-4064
Research Ecologist Jay A VonBank jvonbank@usgs.gov 701-253-5524
Deputy Associate Director Paul Wagner pwagner@usgs.gov 703-648-4034
Research Soil Scientist Mark P Waldrop, Ph.D. mwaldrop@usgs.gov
Research Fish Biologist Lynn Waterhouse, PhD lwaterhouse@usgs.gov
Chief of Staff Linda Weir lweir@usgs.gov 703-648-4052
Senior Science Advisor Jake F. Weltzin jweltzin@usgs.gov 970-226-9239
Supervisory Biologist Kevin Whalen, PhD kwhalen@usgs.gov 703-269-7711
Maintenance Worker Josh Wheeler jwheeler@usgs.gov 701-253-5562
Sagebrush Ecosystem Specialist Lief Wiechman lwiechman@usgs.gov 970-237-2764
Research Ecologist Tammy L. Wilson, PhD tlwilson@usgs.gov
Physical Scientist Natalie R Wilson nrwilson@usgs.gov 520-670-5517
Wildlife Program Manager Mark Wimer mwimer@usgs.gov 703-648-4054
IT Specialist Joseph Woiwode jwoiwode@usgs.gov 701-253-5564
Facilities Manager Bryan Wolla bwolla@usgs.gov 701-253-5578
Hydrologist Michael T Wright mtwright@usgs.gov 619-225-6120
Senior Physical Scientist Zhiliang Zhu, Ph.D. zzhu@usgs.gov 703-648-4243
Management Analyst April Zimney azimney@usgs.gov 701-253-5508
Maintenance Worker Chris Zinke czinke@usgs.gov 701-253-5562