Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Connect

USGS Chesapeake Bay studies are carried out by integrated teams of scientists located in Science Centers across the watershed. The scientists working on Chesapeake Bay projects are listed in the Employee Directory at the bottom of this page. Information on each Science Center is provided under Locations. Leaders of the integrated science topics can be found by clicking the green button below.

Locations

Social Media

Contacts

Ken Hyer, Ph.D.

Chesapeake Bay Associate Coordinator
Phone

Employee Directory

Job Title Name Email Phone
Geologist Kate Ackerman kackerman@usgs.gov 508-457-2331
Supervisory Research Chemist David Alvarez, PhD dalvarez@usgs.gov 573-441-2970
Oceanographer Alfredo Aretxabaleta , PhD aaretxabaleta@usgs.gov 508-457-2204
Hydrologist/Water Quality Specialist Scott Ator swator@usgs.gov 443-498-5564
Research Geologist Larry B Barber, II lbbarber@usgs.gov 303-541-3039
Research Wildlife Biologist Alicia Berlin, Ph.D. aberlin@usgs.gov 301-497-5730
Center Director Christopher Bernhardt, Ph.D. cbernhardt@usgs.gov 703-648-6071
Hydrologist Joel Blomquist jdblomqu@usgs.gov 443-498-5560
Emeritus Scientist John Karl Bohlke jkbohlke@usgs.gov 703-648-6325
Deputy Director, Integrated Modeling and Prediction Division John Brakebill jwbrakeb@usgs.gov 443-498-5557
Research Hydrologist Martin A. Briggs mbriggs@usgs.gov 860-487-7402
Ext: 19
Hydrologic Technician David Brower dpbrower@usgs.gov 443-498-5547
Coordinator, Delaware River Basin Next Generation Water Observing System (NGWOS) Douglas A Burns daburns@usgs.gov 518-285-5662
Emeritus Scientist Donald Cahoon, Ph.D. dcahoon@usgs.gov 301-497-5523
Research Ecologist Joel Carr, Ph.D. jcarr@usgs.gov 443-695-0093
Supervisory Hydrologist Matthew J Cashman, Ph.D. mcashman@usgs.gov 443-498-5511
Water Quality Specialist/Biologist Douglas B. Chambers dbchambe@usgs.gov 304-347-5130
Ext: 231
Hydrologist Jeff G. Chanat jchanat@usgs.gov 804-261-2618
Research Geographer Peter Claggett pclaggett@usgs.gov 443-370-5724
Research Hydrologist John Clune, PhD jclune@usgs.gov 717-317-7226
Hydrologist James Colgin jcolgin@usgs.gov 717-730-6909
Research Oceanographer Salme Cook, PhD secook@usgs.gov 508-457-2357
Senior Geologist Thomas Cronin, Ph.D. tcronin@usgs.gov 703-648-6363
Oceanographer Zafer Defne, PhD zdefne@usgs.gov 508-457-2254
Research Computer Scientist David I Donato didonato@usgs.gov 703-648-5772
Water Quality Specialist - Microbiologist Joe Duris jwduris@usgs.gov 717-730-6930
Research Physical Scientist Meagan J. Eagle , PhD meagle@usgs.gov 508-457-2280
Hydrologist Rosemary Fanelli, Ph.D. rfanelli@usgs.gov 919-571-4036
Supervisory Research Ecologist Stephen Faulkner faulkners@usgs.gov 304-724-4471
Groundwater Specialist Brandon Fleming bjflemin@usgs.gov 717-730-6970
Supervisory Hydrologist Guy M. Foster gfoster@usgs.gov 518-285-5694
Research Oceanographer Neil Kamal Ganju, PhD nganju@usgs.gov 508-457-2252
Chemist Durga Ghosh dghosh@usgs.gov 410-267-5750
Physical Scientist Stephanie Gordon sgordon@usgs.gov 703-336-2793
Research Hydrologist Jennifer L Graham, Ph.D. jlgraham@usgs.gov 518-285-5706
Research Wildlife Biologist Evan Grant, Ph.D. ehgrant@usgs.gov 413-863-3823
Research Ecologist Glenn Guntenspergen, Ph.D. glenn_guntenspergen@usgs.gov 218-788-2707
Physical Scientist Natalie C Hall nhall@usgs.gov
Research Physiologist Paula Henry, Ph.D. phenry@usgs.gov 301-497-5728
Associate Program Coordinator for Science (Acting) Emily A Himmelstoss ehimmelstoss@usgs.gov 508-548-8700
Research Hydrologist Emeritus Robert M Hirsch rhirsch@usgs.gov 703-648-5888
Research Physical Scientist Wells Hively whively@usgs.gov 301-504-9031
Scientist Emeritus Cliff Hupp crhupp@usgs.gov 703-648-5207
Chesapeake Bay Associate Coordinator Ken Hyer, Ph.D. kenhyer@usgs.gov 804-382-7111
Research Biologist Luke R Iwanowicz, Ph.D. liwanowicz@usgs.gov 304-724-4550
Chief, Watershed Studies Section John D. Jastram jdjastra@usgs.gov 804-261-2648
Research Geographer John W. Jones jwjones@usgs.gov 703-994-3224
Physical Scientist Daniel K Jones dkjones@usgs.gov 801-908-5010
Research Ecologist Natalie Karouna-Renier, Ph.D. nkarouna@usgs.gov 301-497-5724
Research Hydrologist Dana W Kolpin dwkolpin@usgs.gov 319-358-3614
Ecologist Benjamin H Letcher bletcher@usgs.gov 413-863-3803
Hydrologist Bruce Lindsey blindsey@usgs.gov 717-730-6964
Hydrologist Emily H Majcher, PE emajcher@usgs.gov 443-498-5520
Supervisory Hydrologic Technician Brenda Majedi blfeit@usgs.gov 443-498-5527
Research Fish Biologist Pat Mazik, PhD pmazik@usgs.gov 304-293-4943
Water Budget Branch Chief Kurt McCoy kjmccoy@usgs.gov 804-261-2656
Physical Scientist Marina Metes mmetes@usgs.gov 443-498-5576
Chief, Earth Systems Modeling Branch (acting) Matthew Miller mamiller@usgs.gov 303-541-3048
Associate Director for Studies Douglas L. Moyer dlmoyer@usgs.gov 804-261-2634
Science Advisor Peter Murdoch pmurdoch@usgs.gov 518-285-5663
Supervisory Geographer Mark R Nardi mrnardi@usgs.gov 302-213-5057
Hydrologist Trevor P Needham, PhD tneedham@usgs.gov 443-498-5584
Research Ecologist Gregory Noe gnoe@usgs.gov 703-648-5826
Program Manager, Next Generation Water Observing Systems (acting) Brian Pellerin bpeller@usgs.gov 703-648-6865
Chesapeake Bay Program Coordinator Scott Phillips swphilli@usgs.gov 410 925-8098
Quality Management System Specialist Patrick Phillips pjphilli@usgs.gov 518-285-5667
Research Biologist Diann Prosser, Ph.D. dprosser@usgs.gov 301-497-5914
Hydrologist/Groundwater Specialist Jeff P Raffensperger, Ph.D. jpraffen@usgs.gov 443-498-5542
Research Physiologist Barnett Rattner, Ph.D. brattner@usgs.gov 301-497-5671
Research Hydrologist Karen C. Rice, PhD kcrice@usgs.gov 434-243-3429
Research Hydrologist Emeritus Nancy Rybicki nrybicki@usgs.gov 703-648-5728
Research Hydrologist Ward Sanford wsanford@usgs.gov 703-648-5882
Hydrologist Noah Schmadel nschmadel@usgs.gov
Economist Gregory E Schwarz gschwarz@usgs.gov 703-648-5718
Physical Scientist Andrew Sekellick ajsekell@usgs.gov 443-498-5580
Hydrologist Gary Shenk gshenk@usgs.gov
Research Oceanographer Christopher Sherwood, PhD csherwood@usgs.gov 508-457-2269
Integrated Water Prediction Program Manager (acting) Katherine Skalak kskalak@usgs.gov 703-648-5435
Research Hydrologist Kelly Smalling ksmall@usgs.gov 609-331-4850
Research Ecologist Craig D Snyder csnyder@usgs.gov 304-724-4468
Physical Scientist Alexander Soroka asoroka@usgs.gov 302-734-2506
Ext: 224
Physical Scientist David R Strong dstrong@usgs.gov 703-648-6193
Chesapeake Bay Monitoring Coordinator/Acting Deputy Director (Detail 2020) Peter Tango, Ph.D. pjtango@usgs.gov 443-510-0486
Research Hydrologist Jim Tesoriero tesorier@usgs.gov
Geographer Renee L Thompson rthompson1@usgs.gov 410-267-5749
Research Toxicologist Donald Tillitt, PhD dtillitt@usgs.gov 573-876-1886
Research Geologist Michael Toomey mtoomey@usgs.gov 703-648-6505
Research Fish Biologist Tyler Wagner, PhD twagner@usgs.gov 814-865-4511
Research Fish Biologist Heather Walsh hwalsh@usgs.gov 304-724-4445
Oceanographer John Warner, PhD jcwarner@usgs.gov 508-457-2237
Hydrologist James Webber jwebber@usgs.gov 804-261-2621
Research Microbiologist, Emeritus James Winton, Ph.D. jwinton@usgs.gov 206-526-6587
Assistant Director, Land Change Research, Hydrologic Transport and Response John C Wolf jwolf@usgs.gov 410-267-5739
Research Biologist John A Young jyoung@usgs.gov 304-724-4469
Research Geographer Sara L Zeigler, Ph.D szeigler@usgs.gov 508-457-2290
Chief, New Cumberland Hydrologic Studies Tammy Zimmerman tmzimmer@usgs.gov 717-730-6974