Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government


The USGS Volcano Hazards Program office is located in Reston, Virginia. Staff from each of the five U.S. Volcano Observatories and the Volcano Disaster Assistance Program work to accomplish the objectives of the Program office. 

Employee Directory

Job Title Name Email Phone
Volcanologist Nathan Andersen 360-993-8900
Scientist Emeritus Victoria F. Avery
Data Scientist Marco Bagnardi, Ph.D.
Geographer Joseph A. Bard 360-993-8908
Research Social Scientist Beth A. Bartel
Volcano Seismologist Ninfa L. Bennington, Ph.D. 808-967-8803
Geologist (NAGT) Emily Bryant 360-993-8992
Scientist-in-Charge Andrew Todd Calvert, Ph.D. 650-329-5276
Geophysicist Jefferson C Chang, Ph.D. 808-967-8818
Hydrologic Technician Tami S Christianson 360-993-8945
Gas Geochemist Laura Clor 360-993-8993
Research Geologist, Alaska Volcano Observatory Michelle L. Coombs, Ph.D. 907-786-7403
Geophysicist Amberlee P. Darold 360-993-8924
Senior Management Officer Josie Davidson 703-648-5436
Research Geophysicist Chanel Deane
Volcanologist Natalia Irma Deligne
Research Geophysicist Roger Patrick Denlinger, Ph.D. 360-993-8904
Volcanologist - VDAP Angie Diefenbach 360-993-8957
Volcanologist Hannah R. Dietterich, Ph.D. 907-786-7474
Volcanologist Drew T. Downs 808-967-7328
Emeritus/USGS-CVO Outreach Coordinator (1995-2022) Carolyn Driedger
Geophysicist: Geodetic Network Manager Andria (Andi) P. Ellis 808-967-7328
Research Geophysicist Ashton F. Flinders, Ph.D. 808-967-8825
Research Mathematician David L George, Ph.D. 360-993-8932
Geologist, IT Systems Administration Scott E. Graham 360-993-8965
Volcanologist - VDAP Julia Griswold 360-993-8949
Scientist-in-Charge Matt M. Haney 907-786-7111
Volcano Stratigrapher Christopher Harpel
Scientist-in-Charge Ken Hon, Ph.D. 808-967-8853
Administrative Operations Assistant Anthony C. Isham 360-993-8962
Research Hydrologist Emeritus Richard M. Iverson 360-993-8920
Management Analyst Sara Jivanjee
Research Geophysicist Ingrid A. Johanson 808-967-8838
Volcanologist Emily R. Johnson, PhD 360-993-8972
Research Geophysicist Arthur Jolly
Gas Geochemist Peter Kelly 360-993-8950
Research Physicist Christoph Kern 360-993-8922
Geophysicist Rebecca L. Kramer 360-993-8930
Geologist Hannah Kruse 360-993-8900
Geophysicist Martin LaFevers 360-993-8902
Volcanic Geochemist Allan Lerner
Research Geologist Matthew Loewen 907-786-7036
Director, Volcano Disaster Assistance Program Jacob B. Lowenstern 360-993-8946
Petrologist Jordan Lubbers 907-786-7118
Volcanologist - Petrologist Kendra J. Lynn, Ph.D. 808-967-8844
Volcano Geophysicist John Lyons 907-786-7422
Scientist-in-Charge Jon Major 360-993-8927
Research Volcanologist Charles W. Mandeville 571-286-2304
Geologist - USGS/Affiliated Volcanologist - Global Volcanism Program, Smithsonian Institution JoAnna G. Marlow
Associate Director, VDAP Jeffery Marso 360-993-8928
Physical Volcanologist Larry G. Mastin, Ph.D. 360-993-8925
Volcano Hazards Program Coordinator Gari Mayberry
Volcano Seismologist Wendy McCausland 360-993-8985
Operational Geophysicist Megan McLay 360-993-8994
Physical Science Technician Robert Mertens 360-993-8973
Field Engineer Brian Meyers
Facility Operations Manager William J. Million 808-967-8872
Research Geophysicist Michael Albert Mitchell, Ph.D. 650-329-5083
Research Geophysicist, Volcano Geodesist Emily Montgomery-Brown 650-329-5227
Volcano Seismologist Seth Moran, Ph.D. 360-993-0925
Geologist Adam R. Mosbrucker 360-993-8975
Volcanologist Patricia A. Nadeau 808-967-7328
Volcanologist Emeritus Manuel Nathenson 650-329-5292
Science Center Director Christina A. Neal 907-786-7458
Hydrogeochemist Emeritus D. Kirk Nordstrom 303-541-3037
Volcanologist Sarah E. Ogburn, PhD (she/her/hers) 360-993-8983
Information Technology Specialist Charles T. Olin 907-786-7072
Volcanologist Tim R. Orr 907-786-7046
Mendenhall Postdoctoral Fellow Tyler G Paladino, Ph.D.
Administrative Operations Assistant Jonathan Parrish 360-993-8973
Research Geologist Matthew Patrick, Ph.D. 808-967-8861
Supervisory Geophysicist Benjamin A. Pauk 360-993-8992
Research Geophysicist Jeremy D. Pesicek, Ph.D. 360-993-8998
Administrative Operations Assistant Kevin H. Pesola 360-993-8963
Deputy Scientist-in-Charge David Phillips, Ph.D. 808-967-8827
Center Safety Manager Taryn M. Plummer 907-786-7107
Scientist in Charge Michael Poland 360-993-8900
Volcano Seismologist John A. Power 907-786-7426
Geologist David W. Ramsey 360-993-8978
Software Engineer Michael Randall 360-993-8991
Geophysicist Cyrus Whitney Read 907-786-7469
Physical Science Technician Aaron P. Rinehart
Geologist Joel E. Robinson
Volcanologist Emeritus William E Scott 360-993-8942
Volcanologist Sally Sennert 202-633-1805
Deputy Director Brian Shiro, Ph.D. 303-273-8515
Media Lead - Natural Hazards Steven Sobieszćzyk 503-853-3425
Supervisory Hydrologic Technician Kurt Spicer 360-993-8944
Geomorphologist, Physical Geographer Dennis Michael Staley 907-786-7423
Associate Program Coordinator Wendy K. Stovall, Ph.D. 360-993-8911
Electronic Engineering Technician Kelly J. Swinford 360-993-8956
Volcano Seismologist Weston Thelen 360-993-8977
Research Geologist Frank Trusdell 808-967-8812
Research Geologist James W. Vallance 360-993-8959
Volcanologist Alexa Van Eaton, Ph.D. 360-993-8955
Supervisory Financial Specialist Jacky Verna 360-993-8953
Volcanologist Kristi L. Wallace 907-786-7497
Research Geophysicist Aaron Wech 907-786-7464
Volcano Seismologist — VDAP Jay Wellik 360-993-8995
Volcanologist - VDAP Heather M. Wright 360-993-8916